Marvin Philip Finalist for Rimington Trophy

Dec. 2, 2004

BERKELEY - Junior center Marvin Philip, who earned first team All-Pac-10 honors earlier this week, has been named one of six finalists for the 2004 Dave Rimington Trophy, which is presented to the outstanding center in college football.

In addition to Philip, the other finalists are: David Baas (Michigan), Jason Brown (North Carolina), Vince Carter (Oklahoma), Greg Eslinger (Minnesota) and Russ Tanner (Georgia).

The winner will be honored at the awards banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Neb., on Jan. 8, 2005. The featured speaker at the banquet will be two-time Heisman Trophy Winner Archie Griffin.

The five-year old trophy (Nebraska's Dominic Raiola, Ohio State's LeCharles Bentley, Miami's Brett Romberg, and Virginia Tech's Jake Grove are past recipients) is presented by Canon USA, Black & Decker and Power Sentry. Since its inception the Rimington Trophy Award has raised over $300,000 for the award's benefactor, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, which is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation that to date has raised over $25,000,000 for CF Research.

Rimington the award's namesake was a consensus first-team All-America center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982 - years in which he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.