Pete Carroll Named Finalist For 2004 Eddie Robinson Coach Of Year Award

Dec. 3, 2004

USC head football coach Pete Carroll has been named one of six finalists for the 2004 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, presented by the Football Writers Association of America.

He also was a finalist for the award in 2003.

The other finalists are UTEP's Mike Price, Utah's Urban Meyer, Auburn's Tommy Tuberville, California's Jeff Tedford and Iowa's Kirk Ferentz.

The winner will be revealed in late December or early January during a nationally telecast football game and be honored at his campus before a football game next fall.

The FWAA has honored a major-college coach with its Coach of the Year Award since 1957. The award is named after Robinson, a coaching legend at Grambling State University for 55 years. He has more Division I victories (408) than any other coach.

In 2004, Carroll has led top-ranked USC to a 12-0 mark and its third consecutive Pac-10 championship.