Zach Miller and Chris MacDonald Named to The Sporting News Freshman All-American Team

Dec. 7, 2004

Tempe, Ariz. -- Arizona State University football players Zach Miller and Chris MacDonald have been selected to The Sporting News 2004 Freshman All-American first-team, announced Tuesday by the publication. Miller was named as a tight end, while MacDonald was the punter. In addition to ASU, only three other schools (USC, Michigan, Texas A&M) produced two freshman All-Americans on the squad.

Miller, who was selected as the Pacific-10 Conference Freshman of the Year and a first-team All-America honoree from, has already set both of ASU's freshman receiving records as he took possession of the receiving yards record with 524 yards, surpassing the 423 yards College Football Hall of Famer John Jefferson had in 1974. He already owns ASU's record for receptions by a rookie with 51 and has moved into second on the ASU top 10 list for catches by a tight end in a single season. All-American Todd Heap set all of ASU's single-season records for receiving by a tight end with 55 catches for 832 yards in 1999. Miller ranks seventh in the Pac-10 in receiving and is the second-leading receiver among tight ends.

MacDonald, who tied for third in the Pac-10 and 21st in the country in punting, carries a 43.1 punting average with a long of 72 yards. He placed 15 punts inside the 15-yard line as well. This is also MacDonald's second first-team All-American honor this year (

The following is the complete list of the first, second and third-teams:

2004 TSN Freshman All-American Teams
*denotes true freshman

First Team:


WR Calvin Johnson, Georgia Tech*
WR Dwayne Jarrett, USC*
TE Zach Miller, Arizona State*
L (T) Jake Long, Michigan
L (T) Barry Ricahrdson, Clemson*
L (T) Sam Baker, USC
L (G) Charlston Gray, North Carolina
L (G) Will Arnold, LSU
QB Chad Henne, Michigan*
RB Adrian Peterson, Oklahoma*
RB Jamario Thomas, North Texas*
L (E) Quentin Groves, Auburn
L (E) Jason Jack, Texas A&M
L (T) Franklin Okam, Texas*
L (T) Red Bryant, Texas A&M
LB Brandon Siler, Florida*
LB Dan Connor, Penn State*
LB Brian Toal, Boston College*
DB (CB) Roshaun Fellows, Tennessee
DB (FS) Ko Simpson, South Carolina*
DB (CB) Antoine Cason, Arizona*
DB (CB) Darrelle Revis, Pittsburgh*
K Alexis Serna, Oregon State
P Chris MacDonald, Arizona State
KR Ted Ginn, Ohio State*
Second Team
WR Austin Collie, BYU*
WR Todd Blythe, Iowa State
TE Andrew Mooney, New Mexico State*
L (G) Roy Schuening, Oregon State
L (G/C) Jeff Byers, USC*
L (G) Peter Graniello, Arizona
L (T) Steve Rehring, Ohio State*
L (G) Andrew Crummey, Maryland
QB Erik Ainge, Tennessee*
RB Michael Hart, Michigan*
RB Adell Givens, Ball State*
L (E) Stanley McClover, Auburn
L (E) Wallace Gilberry, Alabama
L (E) Lawrence Jackson, USC
L (T) Tony Jenkins, Syracuse
LB Jordon Dizon, Colorado*
LB Jonathan Abbate, Wake Forest
LB Josh Williams, Arkansas State
DB (CB) Jonathan Hefney, Tennessee*
DB (FS) Anthony Reddick, Miami*
DB (S) Japhus Brown, Texas A&M
DB (CB) Ryan Smith, Utah
K Chris Nendick, Northern Illinois*
P Jay Ottovegio, Stanford
KR Kevin Robinson, Utah State*
Third Team


WR Kevin Robinson, Utah State*
WR Ernie Wheelwright, Minnesota
TE Kory Sperry, Colorado State*
L (C) Robbie Krutilla, Western Michigan*
L (T) Matt Brim, Wake Forest*
L (G) Shannon Tevaga, UCLA*
L (G) Ryan Wendell, Fresno State*
L (C) Chris Yoder, Texas A&M
QB Bret Meyer, Iowa State
RB Marshawn Lynch, California*
RB Darius Walker, Notre Dame*
L (E) Michael Tuohy, New Mexico
L (E) Chris Ellis, Virginia Tech
L (E) Jesse Nading, Colorado State
LB Jeremy Engstrom, Nevada
LB Vince Hall, Virginia Tech
LB Thomas Keith, Central Michigan
LB Garry Pack, Mississippi*
DB (SS) Danny Verpaele, South Florida*
DB (CB) Nigel Morris, Toledo
DB (CB) Jackie Bates, Oregon*
DB (FS) Quintin Demps, UTEP
K Jermey Ito, Rutgers*
P Ben Woods, Buffalo*
KR Chris Davis, Duke*
Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network