Leinart Named Walter Camp Foundation Player Of The Year

Dec. 9, 2004

Junior quarterback Matt Leinart has been selected as the 2004 Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year the foundation announced on Thursday (Dec. 9) while Leinart, senior defensive tackle Shaun Cody and senior linebacker Matt Grootegoed were all named to the 2004 Walter Camp All-American first team.

Leinart is the 38th recipient of the Walter Camp Player of the Year award and the fourth Trojan (O.J. Simpson, 1967 and 1968; Charles White, 1979; and Marcus Allen, 1981) to capture the honor.

Other finalists for the award included Oklahoma running back Adrian Peterson, USC running back Reggie Bush, Utah quarterback Alex Smith, and Oklahoma quarterback Jason White.

Leinart's and Grootegoed's All-American nods were their second of the postseason after being named earlier to the Football Coaches Association team. It is also Cody's second selection after being included on SportsIllustrated.com's All-American first team. Bush, junior linebacker Lofa Tatupu and senior defensive tackle Mike Patterson have also been tabbed as All-American first teamers in 2004, giving USC six overall, its most ever in on season.

Bush was named to the Walter Camp All-American second team at running back.

Walter Camp Player of the Year Recipients (1967-2004)

2004 - Matt Leinart, University of Southern California
2003 - Larry Fitzgerald, Pittsburgh
2002 - Larry Johnson, Penn State
2001 - Eric Crouch, Nebraska
2000 - Josh Heupel, Oklahoma
1999 - Ron Dayne, Wisconsin
1998 - Ricky Williams, Texas
1997 - Charles Woodson, Michigan
1996 - Danny Wuerffel, Florida
1995 - Eddie George, Ohio State
1994 - Rashaan Salaam, Colorado
1993- Charlie Ward, Florida State
1992- Gina Torretta, Miami
1991- Desmond Howard, Michigan
1990 - Raghib Ismail, Notre Dame
1989 - Anthony Thompson, Indiana
1988 - Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State
1987 - Tim Brown, Notre Dame
1986 - Vinny Testaverde, Miami
1985 - Bo Jackson, Auburn
1984 - Doug Flutie, Boston College
1983 - Mike Rozier, Nebraska
1982 - Herschel Walker, Georgia
1981 - Marcus Allen, University of Southern California
1980 - Hugh Green, Pittsburgh
1979 - Charles White, University of Southern California
1978 - Billy Sims, Oklahoma
1977 - Ken MacAfee, Notre Dame
1976 - Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh
1975 - Archie Griffin, Ohio State
1974 - Archie Griffin, Ohio State
1973 - John Cappelletti, Penn State
1972 - Johnny Rodgers, Nebraska
1971 - Pat Sullivan, Auburn
1970 - Jim Plunkett, Stanford
1969 - Steve Owens, Oklahoma
1968 - O.J. Simpson, University of Southern California
1967 - O.J. Simpson, University of Southern California

Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.