Morris Trophy Winners Announced

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Dec. 10, 2004

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.--Offensive tackle Adam Snyder of Oregon and defensive end Bill Swancutt of Oregon State have been named winners of the 25th annual Morris Trophy.

The Morris Trophy is a unique award given to the outstanding offensive and defensive linemen in the Pacific-10 Conference. What makes the award unique is the selection procedure, which has the starting offensive linemen in the Conference voting for the defensive winner and vice versa. It is truly a players' award.

Snyder, a 6-foot-6, 320-pound senior from Whittier, Calif., is recognized as one of the top offensive lineman in the nation. A three-year starter for the Ducks, Snyder has been voted first-team All-Pac-10 by the league's coaches in each of the last two years. A versatile player who has seen action at both tackle and guard, Snyder becomes just the second Oregon offensive lineman to be voted the Morris Trophy, the other being Gary Zimmerman in 1983.

Swancutt, a 6-foot-4, 259-pound senior from Salem, Ore., adds another honor to cap off a superior season. Swancutt earlier became the first-ever Oregon State player to be named Pac-10 Player of the Year when he was voted the Pat Tillman Pac-10 Co-Defensive Player of the Year by the Pac-10 head coaches. The coaches also made Swancutt the only unanimous first-team selection on the All-Pac-10 team. In addition, Swancutt is a first-team Pac-10 All-Academic Team selection who carries a 3.11 grade-point average in Business. An Oregon State captain, Swancutt has started 37 straight games for the Beavers. He ranks second in the Pac-10 in quarterback sacks (11.5) and third in tackles for loss (18.5) and has career totals of 37 QB sacks and 59.5 tackles for loss, both Oregon State career records. His 63 tackles this season is the top mark among Pac-10 down linemen. Swancutt is the third OSU defensive lineman to win the Morris Trophy, following Inoke Breckterfield in 1998 and Esera Tuaolo in 1989.

Snyder and Swancutt will be presented their awards at a luncheon at the prestigious Washington Athletic Club in Seattle on January 27, 2005.


PACIFIC-10 CONFERENCE--Named offensive tackle Adam Snyder of Oregon and defensive end Bill Swancutt of Oregon State as winners of the Morris Trophy as outstanding offfensive and defensive linemen in the Conference.


Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.