Drew and Havner Named Most Valuable Bruins

Dec. 11, 2004

Junior linebacker Spencer Havner and sophmore running back Maurice Drew were selected winners of UCLA's Henry R. 'Red' Sanders Award for Most Valuable Player at the 86th Annual UCLA Football Awards Banquet, held on campus at Covel Commons Saturday evening.

Havner, who ranks seventh (tied) in the nation in total tackles (11.36 avg.), was a second-team All-American and a semifinalist for the Rotary Lombardi and Butkus awards. Drew, who rushed for a school record 322 yards and five touchdowns in a win over Washington this season, leads the Bruins in rushing (881 yards) and ranks eighth on the school single season all-purpose yards list with 1,431 yards.

The complete list of winners:

Charles Pike Memorial Award for Outstanding Scout Team Players: Offense: quarterback Patrick Cowan and running back Justin Sieber; Defense: Linebacker Christian Taylor and lineman Nathaniel SkaggsJack. R. Robinson Award for Highest Scholarship of a Senior Player: fullback Steve Seigel

N.N. Sugarman Award for Best Leadership: Offense: running back Manuel White Jr.; Defense: linebacker Justin London

Captain Don Brown Memorial Award for Most Improved Player: Offense: tackle Paul Mociler; Defense: safety Eric McNeal

John Boncheff, Jr. Memorial Award for Rookie of the Year: Offense: running back Chris Markey; Defense: Trey Brown

Tommy Prothro Award for Outstanding Special Teams Player: linebacker Benjamin Lorier and place kicker Justin Medlock

Kenneth S. Washington Award for Outstanding Senior: cornerback Matt Clark and punter Chris Kluwe

George W. Dickerson Award for Outstanding Offensive Player against USC: receiver Junior Taylor

Donn Moomaw Award for Outstanding Defensive Player against USC: defensive tackle Kevin Brown

Paul I. Wellman Memorial Award for All-Around Excellence: running back Manuel White, Jr. and receiver Craig Bragg

Jerry Long 'Heart' Award: center Mike McCloskey, fullback Michael Pitre, running back Jason Harrison and tight end Keith Carter

Henry R. 'Red' Sanders Award for Most Valuable Player: Offense: running back Maurice Drew; Defense: linebacker Spencer Havner

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.