Arrington, Rodgers, and Riddle Selected as Team MVPs

Dec. 13, 2004

BERKELEY, Calif. - Senior running back J.J. Arrington and junior quarterback Aaron Rodgers were named co-offensive MVPs and senior defensive end Ryan Riddle was named defensive MVP at Cal's annual football banquet held Saturday night at Haas Pavilion.

Arrington, a first-team All-American, was one of three finalists for the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation's top running back. The senior also broke Chuck Muncie's school single-season rushing record, as well as Muncie's record for consecutive 100-yard games, on his way to the Pac-10 rushing title. Rodgers set a new NCAA record for consecutive completions in a season (26) while tying the NCAA record for consecutive completions in a game (23). In leading his team to a 10-1 record, the junior also earned first-team All Pac-10 honors. Riddle, a first-team All-American and first-team All-Pac-10 defensive end, broke Tully Banta-Cain's school single-season sack record this year with 14.5 sacks.

The complete list of team award winners:

Dink Artal Award  (Player best exemplifying Cal Spirit): Burl Toler

Ken Harvey Award (Player showing special academic commitment & improvement): Geoff McArthur

Frank Schlessinger Coaches Award (Player who demonstrates outstanding athletic ability, academic success & community service): Jon Giesel

Ken Cotton Award (Most Courageous Player): Mike McGrath

Everett Merriman Award (Player demonstrating a commitment to community service): Lorenzo Alexander

Stub Allison Award (Most Inspirational Player): Geoff McArthur

Joe Roth Award (Player best exemplifying courage, attitude & sportsmanship): Matt Giordano

Andy Smith Award (Player with the most Big 'C' time): Ryan O'Callaghan

Senior Lifter of the Year: Ryan Gutierrez

Freshman Lifter of the Year: Will Taufoou

Big Hit Award (Player Registering the most 'Big Hits' during the season): Matt Giordano

Scout Team Player of the Year:Offense: Noris MaleleDefense: Worrell WilliamsSpecial Teams: Frank Summers

Berkeley Breakfast Club Award (Outstanding Player in the Big Game):Offense: Marshawn LynchDefense: Ray Tago

Bob Tessier Award (Most Improved Lineman):Offense: Ryan O'CallaghanDefense: Tom Sverchek

Most Improved Player: Sid Slater

Bob Simmons Award (Most Valuable Freshman): Marshawn Lynch

Most Valuable Back: J.J. Arrington

J. Scott Duncan Award (Most Valuable Special Teams Player): Byron Storer

'Cal' Coaches Award: Reggie Robertson

Brick Muller Award (Most Valuable Lineman):Offense: Marvin PhilipDefense: Ryan Riddle

Bear Backer Award (Most Valable Player voted by team):Offense: J.J. Arrington and Aaron RodgersDefense: Ryan Riddle

Cort Majors Awards (Team Captains): J.J Arrington, Aaron Rodgers, Lorenzo Alexander, and Ryan Gutierrez

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.