Klaas Named NSCAA First-Team All-American For Second-Straight Year

Dec. 13, 2004

SEATTLE -- Washington's C.J. Klaas continues to make history for the Husky men's soccer program as the senior midfielder was named to the NSCAA/adidas All-America first-team for the second consecutive year, making him the first player in the program to ever earn two first-team All-America selections.

Klaas, a native of Cherry Valley, Ill., made history last season, becoming the first UW player to earn first-team All-America honors and is now the first to repeat. That's something Klaas should be used to, as he also became the first player in Pac-10 history to earn four all-conference honors as well.

In 2004, Klaas led the Huskies to the first round of the NCAA Tournament, scoring a career-high five goals and matching his career-high with six assists in 19 games. He was named to the NSCAA All-Far West Region first-team, the All-Pac-10 first-team and was named the 2004 Pac-10 Co-Player of the Year. Klaas was also a semifinalist for the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy for the second consecutive season.

Klaas is one of two Pac-10 players to make the first, second or third All-America teams, joining UCLA's Mike Enfield on the first-team.

This year marks the eighth season that UW has produced an NSCAA All-American, with the only repeat honoree besides Klaas being defender Bryn Ritchie who was named to the second-team in 2000 and the third-team in 2001.

Klaas ends his UW career having started every game he played in (69), scoring 10 goals, racking up 21 assists and netting four gamewinning goals. Klaas has been invited to participate in the 2005 MLS Player Combine held at the Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif., Jan. 8-11.

2004 NSCAA/adidas Division I Men's Soccer All-America First-Team
GK, Christopher Sawyer, Sr. Notre Dame
D, Ugochukwu, Iheme, Sr., Southern Methodist
D, Drew Moor, Jr., Indiana
D, Gonzalo Segares, So., Virginia Commonwealth
M, Mike Enfield, Sr., UCLA
M, C.J. Klaas, Sr., Washington
M, Sacha Kljestan, So., Seton Hall
M, Danny O'Rourke, Sr., Indiana
F, Justin Moose, Jr., Wake Forest
F, Randi Patterson, So., UNC Greensboro
F, Ryan Pore, Jr., Tulsa
F, Jeff Rowland, Jr., New Mexico

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.