Five Bruin Soccer Players Selected To U.S. U-20 Camp

Dec. 15, 2004

UCLA soccer players Chad Barrett, Benny Feilhaber, Patrick Ianni, Kiel McClung and Marvell Wynne have been selected to participate in the U.S. Under-20 Men's National Team final training camp at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. from Dec. 12-23.

This will be the last camp before former UCLA head coach and current U.S. U-20 Head Coach Sigi Schmid selects his final roster to compete in Group A of the CONCACAF Under-20 Qualifying Tournament, which will also be held at The Home Depot Center from Jan. 12-16. The U.S. will be attempting to qualify for the 2005 FIFA World Youth Championship, which takes place in Holland from June 10-July 2.

The five Bruins are amongst 24 collegiate players on the 30-man roster. For Feilhaber, this is his first-ever stint with the National Team. Wynne received his first assignment in November, while Barrett, Ianni and McClung are veterans with the youth national team program.

During the 12-day camp, the 30 players will be split into two teams (White and Blue) for games against the Canadian Under-20 Men's National Team, Necaxa and another team still to be determined. The U.S. will play games on Dec. 18 and Dec. 20, with an intra-squad scrimmage on Dec. 16. On Dec. 18, the White team will go up against Canada at 10 am, while the Blue team will face Mexican first-division club team Necaxa at 3:30 pm. Then on Dec. 20, the Blue will take on Canada at 10 am, with the White team facing off against a team still to be determined at 3:30 pm.

U-20 MNT Roster

GOALKEEPERS (3): Quentin Westberg (ESTAC Troyes); Justin Hughes (UNC), Andrew Kartunen (Stanford)

DEFENDERS (10): Greg Dalby (Notre Dame), Hunter Freeman (Virginia), Kiel McClung (UCLA), Mike Ordonez (Dartmouth), Patrick Phelan (Wake Forest), Steve Purdy (California), Karl Schilling (Connecticut), Nathan Sturgis (Clemson), Tim Ward (St. Louis), Marvell Wynne (UCLA)

MIDFIELDERS (9): Arturo Alvarez (San Jose Earthquakes), Craig Capano (Chicago Fire), Nico Colaluca (Virginia), Jay Denny (Stoke City), Benny Feilhaber (UCLA), Patrick Ianni (UCLA), Sacha Kljestan (Seton Hall), Danny Szetela (Columbus Crew), Michael Videira (Duke)

FORWARDS (8): Freddy Adu (D.C. United), Ely Allen (Washington), Chad Barrett (UCLA), Adam Christman (Virginia), Charlie Davies (Boston College), Will John (St. Louis), Randi Patterson (UNC-Greensboro), Jacob Peterson (Indiana).

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.