Ihlanfeldt Honored by College Golf Foundation

Dec. 22, 2004

Seattle - Former Washington women's golf coach Edean Ihlanfeldt will be presented the Gladys Palmer Meritorious Service Award by the College Golf Foundation at the National Collegiate Golf Coaches Association Hall of Fame Banquet in January. She is the 16th recipient of the award.

The award is given in recognition of outstanding service above and beyond the call of duty and unselfish involvement in promoting golf at any level. Washington coach Mary Lou Mulflur, who played for Ihlanfeldt, will be her presenter at the banquet.

One of the Northwest's most decorated golfers, Ihlanfeldt started the Washington women's golf team in 1974 and was the program's first coach for seven years. During her tenure as head coach she refused to accept payment for performing her duties. Instead, she funneled her paycheck directly back into the program to better the opportunities for her players.

Three of Ihlanfeldt's teams and five individuals qualified for the AIAW Championships. During her UW career the Huskies were the only Northwest team to qualify for nationals.

Ihlanfeldt's accomplishments as an amateur are highlighted by her championship at the 1982 USGA Senior Women's Amateur Championship. She has won more PNGA events, eight, than any other competitor, male or female, in the association's history.

She won six consecutive Montana State championships, including her first when she was just 14 years old, won four Washington State titles, four Seattle City Championships, the Trans-Mississippi title and the Canadian Open Championship. She was inducted into the Pacific Northwest Golf Hall of Fame in 1985.

Ihlanfeldt worked on several USGA committees and was instrumental in bringing the 1974 U.S. Women's Amateur as well as the 1997 U.S. Senior Women's Amateur to Broadmoor Golf Club in Seattle. The Seattle City Women's Amateur Championship Trophy is named after Ihlanfeldt.

Gladys Palmer's contributions to women's collegiate golf were highly significant. As Chairperson of the women's division of Physical Education at Ohio State University, she organized the first women's golf championship in June 1941. She believed that it was up to the educational institutions to run an event for collegiate women, and at the request of a particular young woman the championship was created. The Minnesota student that brought the idea to Palmer was Patty Berg.

This award is intended to honor individuals who have made a substantial contribution to the evolution and growth of women's collegiate golf. Recipients of this prestigious award have influenced women's golf in a manner that changed the complexion of the sport. Accordingly, the award is meant to honor a pioneering spirit. While all coaches have a responsibility to give back something to the game, consideration for this award is only given to those services that extend beyond that basic duty.

Ihlanfeldt's AccomplishmentsUSGA Senior Women's Amateur Champion 1982; Medalist 1981
Canadian Women's Open Champion 1952
PNGA Women's Amateur Champion 1949, 1951, 1962, 1963 & 1964;
Finalist 1948, 1958 & 1966; Medalist 1947, 1951, 1952, 1956, 1958 & 1961
PNGA Senior Women's Amateur Champion 1986, 1987 & 1988
Women's Trans-Mississippi Amateur Champion 1953
Washington State Women's Amateur Champion 1961, 1962, 1963 & 1975
Montana State Women's Amateur Champion 1944, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1948 & 1949
Inducted into Pacific Northwest Golf Hall of Fame 1985

Past Recipients of the Gladys Palmer Meritorious Service Award
Dales McNamara - 2004, University of Tulsa
Linda Vollstedt - 2003, Arizona State University
Peggy Kirk Bell - 2002
Patty Berg - 2001
Ann Pitts - 2000, Oklahoma State University
Jackie Tobian-Steinmann - 1999, UCLA
Mary Fossum - 1998, Michigan State University
Ann Casey Johnstone - 1997, Stephens College
Liz Murphey - 1996, University of Georgia
Dianne Dailey - 1995, Wake Forest University
Sam Carmichael - 1994, Indiana University
Dot Gunnells - 1993, University of North Carolina
Diane Thomason - 1992, University of Iowa
Pat Weiss - 1991, University of Texas
Mimi Ryan - 1990, University of Florida
Gary Howard - 1988, Brigham Young University
Ann Pitts - 1987, Oklahoma State University
Jackie Tobian-Steinmann - 1986, UCLA

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.