Derek Anderson and Bill Swancutt Named Co-Team Most Valuable Players

Dec. 25, 2004

Scottsdale, Ariz. - Oregon State University football student-athletes Bill Swancutt and Derek Anderson have been named co-Players of the Year, head coach Mike Riley announced at a team banquet Christmas night. Riley also announced several other awards, all voted on by team members, during the evening.

Swancutt was recently selected the Pacific-10 Conference's Pat Tillman Co-Defensive Player of the Year. The four-year letterman also was awarded the Morris Trophy, given to the league's top defensive lineman as selected by offensive linemen from other programs. The end from Salem holds the school record for career quarterback sacks with 37 and tackles for loss with 59 ½.

Anderson, a four-year letterman and three-year starter from Scappoose, is the only quarterback in OSU history to lead the team to three bowl games. He already holds all of the significant passing records at OSU, including yards (10,891), touchdowns (75) and single season touchdowns (25 - 2004 & '02). Anderson is one of only six quarterbacks in conference history to throw for more than 10,000 yards for a career and is 21 yards short of becoming the Pac-10's second all-time leading passer.

Riley also announced that senior safety Mitch Meeuwsen was selected the team's defensive MVP and junior wide receiver Mike Hass the offensive MVP. Meeuwsen, from Forest Grove, is OSU's career holder for interceptions with 20 and ranks second among active players in Division I. Hass, from Portland, is already second on the OSU career list for receiving yards with 2,287 and can become the school's outright single season receptions leader with one more catch - he is currently tied with James Newson (2003) with 81.

Senior cornerback Aric Williams from Los Angeles was selected the recipient of the Coaches Award. Williams leads the Pac-10 for passes defended with 1.5 per game and for pass breakups with 12.

Senior Doug Nienhuis of Irvine, Calif., was selected the offensive lineman of the year and Swancutt the defensive lineman of the year. Junior Chaz Scott of Chandler, Ariz., and junior punter Sam Paulescu of Fullerton, Calif., shared special teams MVP honors.

True freshmen Keenan Lewis of New Orleans and Eddie Stamm of Beaverton shared defensive scout team MVP honors. Junior Jimtavis Walker from Statesboro, Geo., was the offensive scout MVP. Walker transferred to OSU from the University of Florida prior to the season and will be eligible to compete next season.

The Beavers continue preparation in Scottsdale for Tuesday's 16th annual Insight Bowl against Notre Dame. The game will be played at Bank One Ballpark in Phoenix.


Co-Team MVPs - Bill Swancutt (DE) and Derek Anderson (QB)Offensive Player of the Year - Mike Hass (WR)Defensive Player of the Year - Mitch Meeuwsen (FS)Coaches Award - Aric Williams (CB)Co-Special Teams Player of the Year - Chaz Scott (LB) and Sam Paulescu (P)Offensive Lineman of the Year - Doug Nienhuis (OT)Defensive Lineman of the Year - Bill Swancutt (DE)Offensive Scout Player of the Year - Jimtavis Walker (RB)Co-Defensive Scout Player of the Year - Keenan Lewis (CB) and Eddie Stamm (LB)
Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.