Zach Miller and Chris MacDonald Named to the FWAA 2004 Scripps freshman All-American Team

Jan. 4, 2005

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. - Arizona State University football players Zach Miller and Chris MacDonald have been selected to the Football Writers Association of America and Scripps 2004 Freshman All-American first-team, announced Tuesday morning during the association's annual awards breakfast. Miller was named as a tight end, while MacDonald was the punter. In addition to ASU, only three other schools (USC, Michigan, Auburn) produced two or more freshman All-Americans on the squad.

Miller, who was selected as the Pacific-10 Conference Freshman of the Year, a first-team All-America honoree from and a first-team freshman All-America and second-team All-America honoree from The Sporting News, has already set both of ASU's freshman receiving records as he took possession of the receiving yards record with 552 yards, surpassing the 423 yards College Football Hall of Famer John Jefferson had in 1974. He owns ASU's record for receptions by a rookie with 56 and has moved into first on the ASU top 10 list for catches by a tight end in a single season, passing All-American Todd Heap who set the previous record with 55 catches in 1999. Miller ranks seventh in the Pac-10 in receiving and is the second-leading receiver among tight ends.

MacDonald, who tied for third in the Pac-10 and 21st in the country in punting, carried a 43.1 punting average with a long of 72 yards. He placed 15 punts inside the 15-yard line as well. This is also MacDonald's third All-American honor this year (, The Sporting News).

The team and coach are selected by a group of writers led by FWAA second vice-president Mike Griffith of the Knoxville News-Sentinel, a member of the Scripps chain. Both true freshmen and redshirt freshmen were considered for the team and so noted.

The following is the complete list of the first team.


QB ï Chad Henne, Michigan 6-2 217 Wyomissing, Pa.
RB ï Michael Hart, Michigan 5-9 194 Syracuse, N.Y.
RB ï Adrian Peterson, Oklahoma 6-2 210 Palestine, Texas
RB ï Jamario Thomas, North Texas 5-11 195 Longview, Texas
WR Todd Blythe, Iowa State 6-5 210 Indianola, Iowa
WR ï Dwayne Jarrett, USC 6-5 195 New Brunswick, N.J.
TE ï Zach Miller, Arizona State 6-4 245 Phoenix, Ariz.
OL ï Sam Baker, USC 6-5 315 Tustin, Calif.
OL Kory Lichtensteiger, Bowling Green 6-3 300 Van Wert, Ohio
OL Jake Long, Michigan 6-7 335 Lapeer, Mich.
OL ï Barry Richardson, Clemson 6-7 330 Mt. Pleasant, S.C.
OL ï Ryan Wendell, Fresno State 6-2 260 Diamond Bar, Calif.

DL Quentin Groves, Auburn 6-3 239 Greenville, Miss.
DL Stanley McClover, Auburn 6-2 252 Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
DL ï Frank Okam, Texas 6-5 300 Dallas, Texas
LB ï Dan Connor, Penn State 6-3 218 Wallingford, Pa.
LB ï Brandon Siler, Florida 6-2 230 Orlando, Fla.
LB ï Brian Toal, Boston College 6-1 223 Wyckoff, N.J.
LB Josh Williams, Arkansas State 6-1 218 China, Texas
CB ï Antoine Cason, Arizona 6-1 180 Los Alamitos, Calif.
CB Roshaun Fellows, Tennessee 6-0 185 Warren, Ark.
S Quintin Demps, UTEP 6-0 195 San Antonio, Texas
S ï Ko Simpson, South Carolina 6-2 185 Rock Hill, S.C.

K Travis Bell, Georgia Tech 6-0 205 Roswell, Ga.
P Chris MacDonald, Arizona State 6-2 220 Mesa, Ariz.
KR ï Kevin Robinson, Utah State 6-0 180 Fresno, Calif.
PR ï Ted Ginn Jr., Ohio State 6-0 170 Cleveland, Ohio

Mike Price, UTEP

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.