National Champ USC Football Team To Be Honored In Public Ceremony On Campus Jan. 21

Jan. 13, 2005

The 2004 national championship USC football team will be honored at a free public ceremony at 3:30 p.m. on Friday, Jan. 21, at Tommy Trojan on campus.

Following the ceremony, there will be a celebration party and concert at 5 p.m., also free to the public.

Coach Pete Carroll and his team will unveil their various national championship trophies, including those from ADT (the 'crystal football'), Associated Press, Football Writers Association of America (Grantland Rice Trophy), College Football Hall of Fame (McArthur Trophy) and The Sporting News, as well as the Orange Bowl and Pac-10 championship trophies.

Quarterback Matt Leinart's Heisman and Orange Bowl MVP trophies also will be unveiled.

Also participating in the ceremony will be USC president Steven Sample, USC athletic director Mike Garrett and Los Angeles city officials, along with the Trojan Marching Band, the USC Song Girls and Yell Leaders.

Free soft drinks will be provided by Coca Cola.

The Trojan football team won its second consecutive national title by going 13-0 in 2004 and beating Oklahoma in the BCS Championship Game in the Orange Bowl. Troy was led by Leinart and fellow All-Americans Reggie Bush, Shaun Cody, Mike Patterson, Matt Grootegoed and Lofa Tatupu.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder