J.J. Arrington Wins Pop Warner Award

March 3, 2005

BERKELEY - J.J. Arrington, a consensus first team All-America tailback at the University of California and the nation's only 2,000-yard rusher last season, has been named the 56th winner of the prestigious Glenn 'Pop' Warner Memorial Trophy, given annually by the Palo Club to the most valuable senior player on the West Coast.

Arrington, who averaged a NCAA-leading 7.0 yards per carry in rushing for a school-record 2,018 yards and 15 touchdowns, is the sixth Cal player in history to win the award and only the second Golden Bear to receive the honor in the past 21 years. Deltha O'Neal was the last Cal recipient in 1999.

'J.J. had an amazing season and is richly deserving of this honor,' said Cal head coach Jeff Tedford. 'He played a major role in our success this past season. While everyone saw how talented he was on the football field, what makes us most proud of him is his work ethic and unselfishness, and the leadership he provided our team.'

The only NCAA Division I-A player to rush for 100 yards in every 2004 game, the 5-11, 215-pound Arrington became only the third player in Pac-10 history to gain 2,000 yards in a season, joining former Heisman Trophy winners Marcus Allen (1981) and Charles White (1979) in that elite group. His 2,018 yards were the most gained by a Pac-10 player in 23 years, while his 261 yards in Cal's regular-season finale at Southern Miss Dec. 4 ranks No. 3 on the school's all-time single-game list.

In propelling the Bears to their best regular season record (10-1) in 54 years and highest national ranking (No. 4) in 52 seasons, Arrington rushed for 169 yards or more in eight of his team's 12 games. He became the first Cal player to win a conference rushing title in 46 years, with quarterback Joe Kapp the last Bear to claim the title in 1958.

The Warner Memorial Trophy, established in 1949 by then-San Jose State football coach Bob Bronzan to honor the legendary coach, has been given to eight former Heisman Trophy winners through the years. Offensive and defensive coordinators from all West Coast NCAA Division I-A schools vote to determine the winner. Below is the complete list of previous recipients:

1949--Eddie LeBaron, College of Pacific1950--Russ Pomeroy, Stanford1951--Ollie Matson, USF1952--Jim Sears, USC1953--Bob Garrett, Stanford1954--George Shaw, Oregon1955--Bob Davenport, UCLA1956--Jon Arnett, USC1957--Joe Francis, Oregon St.1958--Joe Kapp, California1959--Chris Burford, Stanford1960--Bill Kilmer, UCLA1961--Chon Gallegos, San Jose St.1962--Terry Baker, Oregon St.1963--Vern Burke, Oregon St.1964--Craig Morton, California1965--Mike Garrett, USC1967--Gary Beban, UCLA1968--O.J. Simpson, USC1969--Don Parish, Stanford1970--Jim Plunkett, Stanford1971--Jeff Siemon, Stanford1972--Mike Rae, USC1973--Lynn Swann, USC1974--Anthony Davis, USC1975--Chuck Muncie, California1976--Ricky Bell, USC1977--Guy Benjamin, Stanford1978--Jerry Robinson, UCLA1979--Charles White, USC1980--Ken Margerum, Stanford1981--Marcus Allen, USC1982--John Elway, Stanford1983--Ron Rivera, California1984--Jack Del Rio, USC1985--Reuben Mayes, Wash. St.1986--Dave Wyman, Stanford1987--Mike Perez, San Jose St.1988--Rodney Peete, USC1989--Tim Ryan, USC1990--Greg Lewis, Washington1991--Tommy Vardell, Stanford1992--Glyn Milburn, Stanford1993--Johnnie Morton, USC1994--Steve Strenstrom, Stanford1995--Keyshawn Johnson, USC1996--Jake Plummer, Arizona St.1997--Skip Hicks, UCLA1998--Cade McNown, UCLA1999--Deltha O'Neal, California2000---Marques Tuiasosopo, Wash.2001--David Carr, Fresno St.2002--Carson Palmer, USC2003--Dave Ball, UCLA2004--J.J. Arrington, California
Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder