No. 3 Stanford Qualifies 15 Swimmers For 2005 NCAA Championships

March 14, 2005

Stanford, Calif. - Third-ranked Stanford has qualified 15 swimmers for the 2005 NCAA Men's Swimming and Diving Championship to be held March 24-26 at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The 14 Stanford swimmers that have earned a spot in the meet include Daniel Beal, Peter Carothers, Jayme Cramer, Matt Crowe, Rick Eddy, Andy Grant, Gary Marshall, Matt McDonald, Michael McLean, Tobias Oriwol, Shaun Phillips, Kyle Ransom, Mark Stephens, Hongzhe Sun and Ben Wildman-Tobriner.

Stanford is looking to return to a familiar place among the top three teams when the squad competes at the NCAA's. Stanford has won eight national titles in the history of the program and has finished in the top five nationally for 23 consecutive years, including top three finishes in 20 of those seasons. Stanford finished second last year.

The Cardinal completed the dual meet season with a 6-1 overall record and a 3-1 mark against Pac-10 squads, suffering its only loss of the campaign to No. 1 California in February. Stanford then dominated at the Pac-10 Championships, winning its 24th straight conference crown. The Cardinal won 11 of the 21 events contested and scored 932.5 points to outdistance second-place and No.1-ranked California (882).

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network