No. 17 Softball Powers Past No. 23 Northwestern, 5-2

March 21, 2005

SACRAMENTO, Calif. - Sophomore pitcher Brianne McGowan matched her career-high with 10 strike outs and knocked in a pair of runs to lead No. 17 ranked Oregon State to a 5-2 victory against No. 23 ranked Northwestern University in Monday's softball action.

The victory was Oregon State's (17-6) 11th straight and McGowan recorded her 10th consecutive win in the circle. The school record for consecutive victories is 12, set in the 2002 and 1999 campaigns.

Both teams started off hot on the offensive end. OSU took a 1-0 first inning lead after Adrienne Alo led-off the game with a bloop single to center field and eventually came around to score after an RBI double to left field by Vanessa Iapala.

The Wildcats answered with a run in the bottom half of the first when Stephanie Churchwell led-off the inning with a home run to left field.Oregon State regained the lead in the top of the second inning when Lisa Allen belted a lead-off double to center field and came around to score on an infield grounder by Ingrid Lochelt.

McGowan took control from the circle, striking out the side in the bottom of the second and then helped her own cause with a 2-RBI single to right field in the top of the third and Lisa Allen followed with an RBI shot up the middle to make the score 5-1.

Northwestern got one run back in the bottom of the frame when Churchill belted her second home run in as many at bats over the left field wall.McGowan (14-2) pitched her 11th complete game of the year and finished with her second double figure strike out performance.

McGowan and Allen each went 2-for-3 on the day from the plate and the Beavers picked up extra base hits from Allen, Iapala, and Kelly Petersen.

Oregon State continues its California road-swing with a double-header at Saint Mary's College on Tuesday. The Beavers are a perfect 15-0 against the Gaels with Kirk Walker at the helm.

No. 17 Oregon State - 113 000 0 - 5 8 1
No. 23 Northwestern - 101 000 0 - 2 6 1
McGowan and Allen (OSU), Foster, Canney (3), and Dotson (NU). WP - McGowan (14-2). LP - Canney (6-4). 2B - Iapala (OSU), Allen (OSU), Petersen (OSU), Cooper (NU), Amegin (NU), McCorkle (NU). HR - Churchwell, 2 (NU).

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network