Bruins Prepare For San Diego Crew Classic

March 22, 2005

Coming Up -- The UCLA Women's Rowing will travel to Mission Bay in San Diego to compete in the 32nd annual San Diego Crew Classic, held from April 2nd to the 3rd at Crown Point Shores Park. The Bruins will be entering four eights in the regatta. The varsity eight will be competing in the prestigious Jessop-Whittier Cup, where they will race top schools from around the nation.

The San Diego Crew Classic was first held in 1973, which included UCLA as one of the nine participating teams. Since that time, the Crew Classic has grown in popularity, and the event now includes the Jessop-Whittier and Copley Cups, awards given to the top collegiate women and men's teams.

The Bruins were invited to have their varsity eight compete in the Jessop-Whittier Cup this year, an invitation normally extended to the winner of the Cal Cup the previous year. Despite coming in 3rd last year for the Cup, the Bruins were invited based on their strong performance this season. The Bruins will be competing against California, Stanford, Tennessee, USC, Texas, Notre Dame, Washington State, Oregon State, Purdue and Loyola Marymount for this prestigious title. The first two heats of this race will be held on Saturday April 2nd at 8:50 and 9:00 a.m.

The second varsity eight will be racing against schools such as California, Tennessee, USC, Notre Dame, Miami, and Washington State, with the first of three heats between the schools beginning at 10:10 a.m on Saturday, April 2nd. The novice eight will be racing against Oregon State, Notre Dame, Chapman, UC Santa Barbara, Santa Clara and UC San Diego in the third heat, to begin at 11:15 a.m, and the open eight will be racing at 1:30 p.m on Saturday against teams such as Texas and the University of San Diego.

The petite and grand finals for all events will be held on Sunday, April 3rd.

The projected line-ups for the team are as follows:

Varsity 8+: Liz Pallas-Jacobs (stroke), Kristin Bixel, Monica Grova, Kelsey Hicks, Erin Haggerty, Jessica Fritz, Elizabeth Lee, Jessica Rogers, Emina Ong (cox).

Second Varsity 8+: Lauren Hamann (stroke), Leah Wachtel, Erin Rice, Patricia Dudziec, Jessica Holt, Brittany Merchant, Melanie Salter, Elizabeth Felter, Kirsten Potenza (cox).

Novice 8+: Bailey Blosser (stroke), Jaclyn Roewe, Erika Roby, Maida Habibovic, Mattison Pasion, Sarah Miller, Elizabeth Herron, Alexandra Banis, Emily Gibson (cox).

Second Novice 8+: Anna Lindel (stroke), Katherine Vaughan, Kirsten Moore, Andrea Wesolowski, Alexis Kalionzes, Jessica Meredith, Nicole Lundholm, Clara Cartwright, Megan McQuown (cox).

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network