Ike Diogu Earns Second-Team AP All-America Honors

March 22, 2005

Arizona State's Ike Diogu, who already has earned second-team All-America honors by the United States Basketball Writers Association and the National Association of Basketball Coaches, earned the same honor by the Associated Press on Tuesday.

The voting was done on a 5-3-1 basis by the same 72-member national media panel that selects the Top 25 each week. The balloting was conducted before after the conference tournaments had ended.

The first team had Andrew Bogut of Utah, senior forwards Wayne Simien of Kansas and Hakim Warrick of Syracuse, junior guard J.J. Redick of Duke and sophomore guard Chris Paul of Wake Forest.

Joining Diogu on the second team are Illinois guards Dee Brown and Luther Head, Sean May of North Carolina and Salim Stoudamire of Arizona.

The third team was Deron Williams of Illinois, Shelden Williams of Duke, Nate Robinson of Washington, Raymond Felton of North Carolina and Joey Graham of Oklahoma State.

Diogu, the 2005 Pac-10 Player of the Year, leads the Pac-10 in scoring (22.6 ppg.) and rebounding (9.8 rpg.) and played 13 40-minute games on the year. The Garland, Texas, native has scored in double digits in all 91 games of his career. He made 248 free throws on the year, breaking his own Pac-10 record of 243 set last year.

Ike Diogu 2004-2005 HonorsAssociated Press Second-Team All-American

NABC Second-Team All-American

USBWA Second-Team All-American

USBWA District 9 Selection(team made up of players from California, Oregon, Washington,Hawaii and Alaska)

Ike Diogu (Arizona State)Channing Frye (Arizona)Daniel Kickert (St. Mary's)Adam Morrison (Gonzaga)Christian Maraker (Pacific)Nate Robinson (Washington)Tre Simmons (Washington)Salim Stoudamire (Arizona)Dijon Thompson (UCLA)Ronny Turiaf (Gonzaga).

NABC District 15 First-Team Selection(team made up of players from California, Nevada and Arizona)

Ike Diogu (Arizona State)Dijon Thompson (UCLA)Salim Stoudamire (Arizona)Channing Frye (Arizona)Glenn McGowan (Pepperdine).

2005 Pac-10 Player of the Year

Three-Time All-Pac-10 Honoree (2003, 2004, 2005)

Three-Time Pac-10 Player of the Week in 2004-2005

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network