Men's Swimming Heads To 2005 NCAA Championships

March 23, 2005

Stanford, Calif. - The third-ranked Stanford men's swimming team heads to Minneapolis, Minn., for the 2005 NCAA Men's Swimming and Diving Championships, March 24-26, at University Aquatic Center. The University of Minnesota is serving as the host school for this event. A total of 45 schools and 235 athletes will participate.

ESPN2 will broadcast the championship, April 1, at 1:30 p.m. (tape delay basis). Craig Hummer will handle the play-by-play duties while Rowdy Gaines will be the analyst. Cynthia Potter will also provide sideline coverage and diving analysis.

All-session passes for the NCAA Championships are $50. Single preliminary session tickets are $9 while single final session tickets are $12.

Tickets are available by calling 1-800-U-GOPHER or 612-624-8080. Tickets can also be purchased online at

Fifteen Stanford swimmers have earned spots in the meet include Daniel Beal, Peter Carothers, Jayme Cramer, Matt Crowe, Rick Eddy, Andy Grant, Gary Marshall, Matt McDonald, Michael McLean, Tobias Oriwol, Shaun Phillips, Kyle Ransom, Mark Stephens, Hongzhe Sun and Ben Wildman-Tobriner.

Stanford is looking to return to a familiar place among the top three teams when the squad competes at the NCAA's. Stanford has won eight national titles in the history of the program and has finished in the top five nationally for 23 consecutive years, including top three finishes in 20 of those seasons. Stanford finished second last year.

The Cardinal completed the dual meet season with a 6-1 overall record and a 3-1 mark against Pac-10 squads, suffering its only loss of the campaign to No. 1 California in February. Stanford then dominated at the Pac-10 Championships, winning its 24th straight conference crown. The Cardinal won 11 of the 21 events contested and scored 932.5 points to outdistance second-place and No.1-ranked California (882). Gary Marshall was named the Pacific-10 Conference Men's Swimmer of the Meet for the Pac-10 Championship. Marshall, a senior from Bartlesville, Okla., broke three Pac-10 records at the Pac-10 Men's Swimming Championship, held Mar. 2-5 in Long Beach, Calif. He completed the 200 breaststroke in 1:52.71, less than one-tenth of a second away from the American record. Marshall also broke the Pac-10 mark in the 100 breaststroke twice, swimming the event in 52.60 seconds in prelims and 52.55 seconds in the finals.

Last year Stanford ended the season with a second place finish at the 2004 NCAA Men's Swimming and Diving Championships, held in Long Island, New York. It was their 20th top-three finish since 1982. Stanford swimmers recorded two individual titles during the meet. Senior Peter Marshall (Atlanta, Ga.) successfully defended his title in the 100 back to capture his third title in this event in four years on The Farm. And he did it in a world record time of 50.32. Junior Jayme Cramer took top honors in the 200 meter freestyle, touching the wall in 1:45.04. Senior Markus Rogan placed second in three separate events for the Cardinal - the 200 yard IM, 100 yard backstroke and 200 yard backstroke. Cramer also turned in a second place showing in the 200 yard butterfly. The 200 yard freestyle relay team of Ben Wildman-Tobriner, Peter Marshall, Andrew Schnell and Bobby O'Bryan turned in a new American record time of 1:25.69 in the finals. In the prelims of the 200 yard medley relay, Peter Marshall, Gary Marshall, Matt McDonald and Ben Wildman-Tobriner broke the American record, clocking in at 1:35.77. During that race, Peter Marshall set the U.S. Open record for the 50 yard backstroke.

Markus Rogan and Jayme Cramer tied for third in the individual point standings with 51 points while Peter Marshall placed eighth (47 points). Eleven swimmers picked up All-America honors with another two garnering honorable mention.

Last Time At NCAAs Stanford Won ....

NCAA Team Championship 1998
NCAA Individual Title 2004
50 Freestyle (Anthony Robinson) 2001
100 Freestyle (Dave Fairbank) 1977
200 Freestyle (Jayme Cramer) 2004
500 Freestyle (John Witchel) 1988
1650 Freestyle (Jeff Kostoff) 1987
100 Breaststroke (Kurt Grote) 1995
200 Breaststroke (Tom Wilkens) 1998
100 Backstroke (Peter Marshall) 2004
200 Backstroke (Markus Rogan) 2002
100 Butterfly (Dod Wales) 1999
200 Butterfly (Adam Messner) 2001
200 IM (Markus Rogan) 2002
400 IM (Tom Wilkens) 1998
200 Free Relay 2003
400 Free Relay 1998
800 Free Relay 1992
200 Medley Relay 2002
400 Medley Relay 2002
One Meter Diving (Ed Throndsen) 1930

2004-05 Cardinal Top Times
(by event in SC Yards)

50 free: B. Wildman-Tobriner (19.23)
100 free: Ben Wildman-Tobriner (42.59)
200 free: Andy Grant (1:34.38)
500 free: Mike McLean (4:14.89)
1000 free: Shaun Phillips (9:03.91)
1650 free: Shaun Phillips (14:47.70)
100 back: Jayme Cramer (46.05)
200 back: Hongzhe Sun (1:41.25)
100 breast: Gary Marshall (52.55)
200 breast: Gary Marshall (1:52.71)
100 fly: Jayme Cramer (46.58)
200 fly: Jayme Cramer (1:43.09)
200 IM: Tobias Oriwol (1:45.27)
400 IM: Mark Stephens (3:46.46)
200 free relay: Wildman-Tobriner, Cramer, Crowe, Ransom (1:18.33)
400 free relay: Grant, Wildman-Tobriner, Ransom, Crowe (2:55.51)
800 free relay: Beal, Grant, Phillips, Cramer (6:18.71)
200 medley relay: Cramer, Eddy, McDonald, Wildman-Tobriner (1:24.82)
400 medley relay: Cramer, Marshall, McDonald, Wildman-Tobriner (3:06.69)

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network