Four UCLA Gymnasts Named To Pac-10 All-Academic Team

March 31, 2005

Walnut Creek, Calif. - Four gymnasts from 2005 Pac-10 champion UCLA were selected to the Pac-10 All-Academic team, including first-team selections Kate Richardson (Coquitlam, BC) and Christie Tedmon (Carmichael, CA). Kristen Maloney (Pen Argyl, PA) and Ashley Peckett (Mississauga, ON) were named to the honorable mention team.

Tedmon, a senior and three-time NACGC Scholastic All-American, has amassed a 3.72 GPA in Psychology. Richardson, a junior and third-team Academic All-American in 2004, holds a 3.78 GPA in Physiological Science. Both were second-team picks a year ago, and Tedmon was also an honorable mention selection in 2003.

Maloney, the 2005 Pac-10 all-around, vault, beam and floor champion and this year's Pac-10 Gymnast of the Year, earns the second honorable mention nod of her career. Peckett, a sophomore, receives her first honor in her first year of eligibility.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.


First Team
My-Lan Dodd, CAL - Sr., 3.74, Developmental Studies & Sociology
Kari Muth, ASU - Sr., 3.94, Finance
Lindsay Nelson, OSU - Sr., 3.73, Exercise and Sport Science
Kate Richardson, UCLA - Jr., 3.78, Physiological Science
Molly Seaman, WASH - Sr., 3.80, Zoology
Christie Tedmon, UCLA - Sr., 3.72, Psychology

Second Team
Donna Chance, ASU - So., 3.83, Psychology
Keegan Fitzgerald, OSU - RFr., 3.98, Exercise and Sport Science
Katie Johnson, ARIZ - Sr., 3.45, Marketing
Tacia LaBatte, WASH - Sr., 3.65, Communications/Dance
Chrissy Lamun, OSU - Jr., 3.77, General Science
Kim Lewis, WASH - Sr., 3.60, Psychology

HONORABLE MENTION: April Boone, ASU; Stevie Fanning, Arizona; Natalie Foley, Stanford; Heidi Goehring, OSU; Jamie Holton, Arizona; Heather Justus, OSU; Kristen Maloney, UCLA; Kelly McDonald, Washington; Ashley Peckett, UCLA; Christa Piazza, OSU; Jamie Schell, Arizona; Kim Sedlak, OSU; Lauren Shipp, California; Stacy Sprando, Stanford; Aubrey Tayor, Arizona; Therese Videan, OSU; Nicole Waiss, Washington

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network