ASA Announces Top 25 Candidates For Collegiate Softball Player of the Year

April 6, 2005

Oklahoma City, Okla. - The Amateur Softball Association, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, announced today the 25 finalists for the 4th Annual USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award. This award, which is considered the Heisman Trophy in women's collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country.

The Top 25 finalists for the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award, listed in alphabetical order, are:

Monica Abbott (Tennessee); Sophomore, Pitcher; Salinas, Calif.
Kelly Anderson (California); Senior, Pitcher; Woodland, Calif.
Holly Currie (Auburn); Sophomore, Pitcher/DP; Pisgah, Ala.
Kristi Durant (Tennessee); Junior, Catcher/3B; Placentia, Calif.
Kristie Fox (Arizona); Sophomore, Shortstop; San Diego, Calif.
Vicky Galindo (California); Senior, Third Base; Union City, Calif.
Megan Gibson (Texas A&M); Freshman, Pitcher/3B; Spring, Texas
Michelle Green (Georgia); Senior, Pitcher; Duluth, Ga.
Tiffany Haas (Michigan); Junior, 2B; Santa Ana, Calif.
Alicia Hollowell (Arizona); Junior, Pitcher; Suisun, Calif.
Lindsay James (California); Junior, Outfield; San Carlos, Calif.
Chelsi Lake (Baylor); Sophomore, Infielder; Keller, Texas
Lauren Lappin (Stanford); Junior, Shortstop; Anaheim, Calif.
Jessica Leslie (Oklahoma); Senior, Outfield; Raytown, Mo.
Caitlin Lowe (Arizona); Sophomore, Outfield; Tustin, Calif.
Jessica Merchant (Michigan); Senior, Shortstop; Wayland, Mich.
Cat Osterman (Texas); Junior, Pitcher; Houston, Texas
Jennie Ritter (Michigan); Junior, Pitcher; Dexter, Mich.
Kristen Rivera (Washington); Senior, Catcher; Perris, Calif.
Heather Scaglione (Oklahoma); Senior, Catcher; San Diego, Calif.
Amanda Scarborough (Texas A&M); Freshman, Pitcher; Magnolia, Texas
Anjelica Selden (UCLA); Freshman, Pitcher; Vacaville, Calif.
Jamie Southern (Fresno State); Senior; Pitcher/Utility; Clovis, Calif.
Kristin Vesely (Oklahoma); Junior, Outfield; Phoenix, Ariz.
Kim Wendland (Georgia); Senior, Infield; Rock Island, Ill.

On May 10, just days before the start of post-season play, a list of 10 finalists will be named. On May 31 the list will be cut to three and those final three players will travel to Oklahoma City for the announcement of the winner at the 2005 NCAA Women's College World Series.

A replica of the award will be placed in a permanent display in the ASA National Softball Hall of Fame in Oklahoma City, along with photos of the winner. An additional replica of the award will be presented to the player's academic institution.

Florida State's Jessica Van der Linden was selected as the 2004 winner after leading her Seminole's to the ACC title and a berth to the Women's College World Series.

Past winners of the award include Stacey Nuveman (UCLA-2002), Cat Osterman (Texas-2003) and Jessica Van der Linden (Florida State-2004).

courtesy of USA Softball

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network