Eleven Cardinal Wrestlers Named Pac-10 All-Academic

April 6, 2005

Stanford, Calif. - Stanford wrestling placed 11 student-athletes on the 2005 Pacific-10 Conference All-Academic squad, commissioner Tom Hansen announced. Mark Egesdal and Josh Zupancic were both recognized as First Team selections, while Matt Gentry, Imad Kharbush, Larry Ozowara and Shawn Ritzenthaler were Second Team honorees. Ray Blake, Brennan Corbett, Juston Johnson, Brian Perry and Nathan Peterson were all recognized as honorable mention selections.

To qualify for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.

Egesdal, a redshirt junior who is pursuing a degree in Computer Science, posted six wins this season, four by way of pins and one by technical fall. At the Menlo Invitational, Egesdal posted a second place finish at 184 pounds. Zupancic, a redshirt freshman, finished his rookie campaign with a 22-9 record, including a 10-1 mark in dual matches. Zupancic placed second at 149 pounds at the Central Missouri Open and posted a fourth place finish at the California Open.

Gentry, Stanford's first-ever NCAA Champion in wrestling, finished his collegiate career this season with 29 wins, pushing his school record career win total to 138. Gentry will finish his academic career this spring, as he completes his degree in Human Biology. Kharbush, who won 10 matches this season by pin, finished in ninth place at the NCAA Championships after taking third at the Pac-10 Championships. Kharbush will return to the Cardinal next season, as he continues his studies in Management, Science & Engineering. Ozowara and Ritzenthaler, both juniors, will be back next season as they pursue degrees in Psychology and Computer Science, respectively. Ozowara picked up nine wins this season, including a pair of victories in dual meets. Ritzenthaler, the starting heavyweight for the Cardinal, picked up 11 wins this season, six of which came by technical fall.

Blake and Perry both finished the year with 10 wins apiece, while Corbett completed the season with a 7-1 mark. Johnson picked up seven wins, and Peterson closed out his career with his second 20-win campaign.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network