Men's Golf Hosts Thunderbird Invitational Friday And Saturday

April 6, 2005

KARSTEN TO HOST THUNDERBIRD INVITATIONAL: The Arizona State men's golf team plays host on April 8-9 (Friday-Saturday) to the 33rd annual ASU Thunderbird Invitational at ASU's Karsten Golf Course (par-72, 7,037 yards). The 15 teams will play 36 holes on Friday, April 8, followed by a final round on Saturday, April 9. ASU has won five of the past six (1999-2001, 2003-2004) Thunderbird Invitationals and has won the tournament 12 of the past 16 years. Last year, ASU shot a tournament record 43-under 821 to beat Arizona by eight strokes while ASU's Alejandro Canizares won medalist honors with a 16-under 200 (65-66-69) which tied the tournament record.

SUN DEVIL HISTORY: ASU has won the Thunderbird Invitational 13 times (1984, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003 and 2004). Nine times Sun Devils have won the individual title: Mark Sollenberger (1974), Jim Carter (1984), Phil Mickelson (1991 and 1992), Larry Barber (1994), Todd Demsey (1995), Jeff Quinney (1999), Paul Casey (2000) and Alejandro Canizares (2004).

COMPETING SCHOOLS: The 15 competing schools are: Arizona, ASU (two teams), BYU, California, Colorado State, Hawaii, Kansas State, Oregon, Penn State, Pepperdine, Stanford, Texas Tech, UNLV and UCLA. There will be a shotgun start on Friday at 7:15 a.m. while Saturday's regular tee-times from holes 1 and 10 will begin at 7 a.m.

ASU QUICK NOTES: ASU has finished first or second at its tournament every year beginning with 1994, a streak of 11 straight Thunderbird Invitationals...ASU has finished in the top five at the NCAAs in five of the past 10 years and has won the Pac-10 title six of the past 10 years. The Sun Devils also won national championships in 1990 and 1996. ASU is led by 13th-year head coach Randy Lein, the 1996 National Coach of the Year and a seven-time winner of Pac-10 Coach of the Year (five times at ASU and twice at USC).

ASU HEAD COACH Randy Lein: Randy Lein has coached 60 tournament victories in his 22 seasons, tutored 48 All-Americans and added the top accolade in collegiate golf in 1995-96 - the NCAA title - to his collection as the Sun Devils won the title in Chattanooga, Tenn., with a three-stroke victory over UNLV at the Honors Course. In his 13th season as ASU's coach, Lein has guided ASU to 37 tournament victories (including a school record six in 1995-96), seven Pac-10 titles, four NCAA West Regional wins (three of the past five) and eight top-10 finishes at the NCAAs including the 1996 title. In addition, Lein has tutored NCAA medalists Todd Demsey and Alejandro Canizares and 12 All-Americans (27 occasions): Todd Demsey (3), Chris Hanell (3), Paul Casey (3), Cade Stone, Chris Stutts, Joey Snyder (2), Scott Johnson (2), Darren Angel (2), Jeff Quinney (3), Matt Jones (2), Chez Reavie (3) and Alejandro Canizares (2). He has won Pac-10 Coach-of-the-Year five times (1993, 1995, 1996, 1999 and 2000) while at ASU and twice at USC (1980 and 1986). Lein (pronounced 'Line') is a 1975 graduate of Cal State Northridge.

SUN DEVILS AS PAC-10 PLAYER OF THE YEAR: A list of Sun Devils who have won Pac-10 Player of the Year honors: Scott Watkins (1979 co-player of the year), Dan Forsman (1981 co-player of the year), Billy Mayfair (1987), Phil Mickelson (1990, 1991 and 1992), Todd Demsey (1994), Paul Casey (2000) and Jeff Quinney (2001 co-player of the Year).

THUNDERBIRD INVITATIONAL CHAMPIONSYear       Champion/ASU Finish     Individual Champion1973 Long Beach St. (ASU-5th)        Lance Suzuki, BYU1974   Oklahoma St.(ASU-2nd)   Mark Sollenberger, ASU1975      BYU (ASU T-2nd) Scott Simpson, USC1976  BYU (ASU-3rd)   John Fought, BYU1977    Oklahoma St. (ASU-2nd)  Lindy Miller, OSU1978   BYU (ASU-2nd)   Curt Worley, SDSU1979   UCLA (ASU-2nd)  Corey Pavin, UCLA1980   BYU (ASU-2nd)   Bob Clampett, BYU1981   San Jose State (ASU-3rd)        Steve Jones, Colorado1982       BYU (ASU-3rd)   Storm Gleib, Weber State1983    Oklahoma St. (1,083) (ASU-11th)        Willie Wood, Oklahoma State (211)1984   ASU     Jim Carter , ASU1985    Fresno State (1,106) (ASU-5th)          Howard Johnson, San Diego State (209)1986       BYU (1,072) (ASU-2nd)           Eduardo Herrera , BYU (207)1987 UCLA (1,100) (ASU-4th)          David Sutherland, FSU (211)1988 Oklahoma St. (853) (ASU-4th)            Michael Bradley, OSU (141)1989  ASU 'B' (864/E) (ASU 'A'-2nd)           Aaron Bengoechea, Pacific  (202/-14)1990        ASU (846/-18)   Ramon Brobio, BYU (209/-7)1991  ASU (840/-24)   Phil Mickelson, ASU (204/-12)1992       ASU (854/-10)   Phil Mickelson, ASU (209/-7)1993        UA(850/-14) (ASU-3rd)           David White, Arkansas (208/-8)1994      ASU (859/-5)    Larry Barber, ASU (205/-11)1995 Arkansas (867/+3) (ASU-2nd)                Todd Demsey, ASU (213/-3)1996   ASU (864/E)     Lonnie Damon, BYU (214/-2)1997  ASU (854/-10)   Jeff Mixon, Oklahoma (209/-7)1998       UCLA (867/+13) (ASU-2nd)                Brandon Ditullio, UCLA (211/-5)1999     ASU (834/-30)   Jeff Quinney, ASU (201/-15)2000 ASU (846/-18)   Paul Casey, ASU (207/-9)2001    ASU (839/-25)   Anders Hultman, Okla. St. (206/-10)2002 Texas (832/-32) Bret Guetz, TCU (200/-16)2003   ASU (824/-40)   David Schultz, TCU (201/-15)2004        ASU (821/-43)   Alejandro Canizares (200/-16)


TEAM TOTAL SCORE1. ASU 43-under 821 in 20042. ASU 40-under 824 in 2003T3 Arizona 32-under 832 in 2004T3. USC 32-under 832 in 2003T3. Texas 32-under 832 in 20026. ASU 30-under 834 in 1999T7. USC 29-under 835 in 2004T7. Pepperdine 29-under 835 in 20039. TCU 28-under 836 in 200310. ASU 26-under 838 in 2002

INDIVIDUAL TOTAL SCORET1. Alejandro Canizares (ASU) 16-under 200 in 2004T1. Bret Guetz (TCU) 16-under 200 in 2002T3. David Schultz (TCU) 15-under 201 in 2003T3. Jeff Quinney (ASU) 15-under 201 in 1999T5. Ryan Moore (UNLV) 14-under 202 in 2004T5. Aaron Bengoechea (Pacific) 14-under 202 in 1989T7. Chez Reavie (ASU) 13-under 203 in 2004T7. John Klauk (Texas) 13-under 203 in 2002T9. Chris Nallen (Arizona) 12-under 204 in 2004T9. Joshua Wooding (USC) 12-under 204 in 2004T9. David Oh (USC) 12-under 204 in 2003T9. Phil Mickelson (ASU) 12-under 204 in 1991

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network