Senior Dijon Thompson Named UCLA's MVP At End-of-the-Season Banquet

April 7, 2005

UCLA senior Dijon Thompson, a first-team All-Pac-10 selection, was given the Coach John Wooden Award as UCLA's Most Valuable Player for the 2004-05 season on Thursday night at the Bruins' annual awards dinner banquet held on campus at Covel Commons.

Thompson was UCLA's leading scorer (18.4., No. 3 in the Pac-10) and rebounder (7.9, No. 3 in the Pac-10) and averaged 34.6 minutes, 2.25 assists and 1.5 steals and shot .474 (183-386) from the field, .374 (43-115) from three-point range and .787 (107-136) from the foul line. The No. 19 scorer (1,458) in UCLA history, Thompson led the Bruins in scoring on 14 occasions (including eight of the last 13 games) and in rebounding 20 times (including 10 of the last 14 games). His senior season/career highs included 39 points vs. Arizona State (2/10) and 16 rebounds twice (Washington State 1/6-Western Illinois 11/23). For the season, he had eight double-doubles and scored over 20 points on 11 occasions. At last year's banquet, Thompson shared the MVP honor with T. J. Cummings.

Freshman point guard Jordan Farmar, the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, shared the Seymour Armond Memorial Award (Most Valuable Freshman) with his two freshman starting teammates - guard Arron Afflalo and forward Josh Shipp, and Farmar also earned the Bob 'Ace' Calkins Memorial Award (Free Throw Champion/.801, 109-136, No. 7 in the Pac-10) and the UCLA Alumni Association Award (Team Assist Leader/5.27, No. 2 in the Pac-10).

There were two new awards given - Gerald A. Finerman Award (Team Rebounding Leader/Dijon Thompson, 7.9), Finerman is the Bruins' longtime team physician, and the UCLA Alumni Association Award (Team Assist Leader/Jordan Farmar, 5.27). The Academic Achievement and Team Contribution honor (senior Josiah Johnson), formerly the UCLA Alumni Association Award, has been renamed the UCLA Faculty Athletic Representative Award.

Below is a complete list of the ten awards given out Thursday night.

-Coach John Wooden Award (Most Valuable Player) - senior Dijon Thompson

-Seymour Armond Memorial Award (Most Valuable Freshman) -Arron Afflalo/Jordan Farmar/Josh Shipp

-Gerald A. Finerman Award (Team Rebounding Leader) - senior Dijon Thompson (7.9)

-Bob 'Ace' Calkins Memorial Award (Free Throw Champion) - Jordan Farmar (.801, 109-136)

-UCLA Alumni Association Award (Team Assist Leader) - Jordan Farmar (5.27)

-Elvin C. 'Ducky' Drake Memorial Award (for Competitive Spirit, Inspiration and Unselfish Contributions) - sophomore Matt McKinney

-Bruin Hoopsters J. D. Morgan Memorial Award (Outstanding Team Play) - freshman Josh Shipp

-UCLA Faculty Athletic Representative Award (Academic Achievement and Team Contribution) - senior Josiah Johnson

-Bruin Bench Basketball Award (Most Improvement in All-Around Play and Mental Attitude) - junior Michael Fey

-Irv Pohlmeyer Memorial Award (Outstanding Defensive Player) - freshman Arron Afflalo

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network