Pac-10 Women's Diving Awards Announced

April 12, 2005


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

USC notched two diving awards as Blythe Hartley was named the 2004-05 Pacific-10 Conference Diver of the Year and Hongping Li was named Coach of the Year. UCLA's Brittany Renfrow was named Newcomer of the Year, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced.

Hartley, a junior from North Vancouver, B.C., won both the one and three-meter springboard at the 2005 Pac-10 Championships, and was named Diver of the Championship. The 2002 and 2003 Pac-10 Diver of the Year and the 2002 NCAA Diver of the Year, Hartley took home her third career NCAA title with a victory on the three-meter springboard at the 2005 NCAA Championships. She finished second on the one-meter springboard and fifth on the platform, and was named the 2005 NCAA Diver of the Year. Hartley did not compete for USC in 2004, as she trained for the Olympics in Athens, where she won a bronze medal for Canada.

Renfrow, a freshman from Bakersfield, Calif., finished eighth in the three-meter springboard at the Pac-10 Championships, qualifying for the Zone E Diving Championships with a score of 436.35. She also finished 11th at the U.S. Open in the three-meter springboard.

In his sixth year at USC, Li helped lead the Trojans to two Pac-10 individual titles and five top-eight finishes. The USC swimming and diving team took 10th overall at the NCAA Championships. The Women's Coach of the Year award is Li's fourth in the last five years.

The Diver, Newcomer and Coach of the Year honors are determined by a coaches vote.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network