Anissa Hilyard & Liya Liu Receive Arthur Ashe Scholar Award

April 14, 2005

Seattle - Washington swimmers Anissa Hilyard and Liya Liu were among eight Washington athletes named 2005 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars. The award honors undergraduate students of color for excellence in the classroom and on the playing field.

Hilyard, a senior, earned a 3.30 grade-point average last fall and has a 3.20 cumulative GPA in sociology and communications.

Liu, a junior, earned a 3.77 GPA last fall and has a 3.87 cumulative GPA in pre-elementary education.

Joining Hilyard and Liu on the seven-member swimming team included Rebecca Johnson of Nebraska, Donele Small of New Jersey Institute of Technology, Florencia Szigeti of Arizona State, Kiana Taheri of Rice and Jessica Yuen of New York University.

Other Huskies that received recognition included gymnast Tacia LaBatte, women's soccer player Tina Frimpong, volleyball player Candace Lee, football player James Sims Jr., and men's track and field/cross country athletes Brandon Bailey and Mark Mandi.

Inspired by tennis legend Arthur Ashe Jr.'s commitment to education as well as his love for the game of tennis, Black Issues In Higher Education established the Sports Scholars Awards to recognize outstanding sports scholars. In addition to their athletic ability, Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars must exhibit academic excellence and community activism.

To be included, students have to compete in an intercollegiate sport; maintain a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.2; and be active on their campuses or in their communities.Track and field athlete Sharonda Latrice Johnson of the University of North Carolina-Charlotte and basketball guard Chris Hill of Michigan State University were selected by the editors as Sports Scholars of the Year for best exemplifying the standards of scholarship, athleticism and humanitarianism.

For more information on the Arthur Ashe Sports Scholars Award and a complete list of winners, please visit

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network