No.2 Bruins Begin Post-season Play at Pac-10 Championships

April 17, 2005

UCLA's defending NCAA champion women's golf team travels to the 19th Annual Pac-10 Women's Golf Championship, hosted by California at Ruby Hill Golf Club in Pleasanton, CA.

Ruby Hill GC will play to a par of 72 over 6,315 yards. The Pac-10 Women's Golf Championship is a 54-hole stroke play tournament, featuring 10 teams of five players each. The low four scores for each team will be counted for each round to determine a team champion. The lowest 54-hole individual score will determine the conference medalist.

UCLA swept the team and individual titles last year. Charlotte Mayorkas, now a senior, won medalist honors with a score of 218 (+2). Hannah Jun, who finished second last year, earned Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year acclaim and Carrie Forsyth was voted the conference's coach of the year.

UCLA has won three conference titles in women's golf (1990-91-04) and finished second five times. The Bruins enter this year's championship as the league's highest ranked team with three consecutive victories to their credit. Overall, the Bruins have won four tournaments this season and have finished second in two others. Last season, the Bruins set a school record by winning seven tournaments, including six straight to end the season. They also won a trifecta of collegiate 'majors': conference, regional and national championships.

'We are ready to begin post-season play,' said Forsyth, the 2004 NGCA National Coach of the Year. 'Our team has been working hard to get to this point, where every shot can be the difference between becoming conference and national champions, or runners-up.'

The Pacific-10 Conference has produced 11 NCAA team champions in women's golf -- more than any other conference in the country. Five times, the winner of the Pac-10 Conference Championship has won the national championship. Since 2000, three of the NCAA team champions have come from the Pac-10, including the last two.

In addition, nine players from the Pac-10 have won the NCAA individual title, including Cal's Sarah Huarte in 2004. Other former Pac-10 standouts who have won the NCAA individual title include Annika Sorenstam (1991, Arizona), Jennifer Rosales (1998, USC) and Grace Park (1999, ASU).

'The Pac-10 Championship is the best preparation any team can have before heading to the NCAA Championship,' Forsyth continued. 'It is another opportunity for us to perform in an intense arena.'

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network