Fargus, Mellouli, Hartley Named MVPs

April 18, 2005

Junior men's swimmer Ous Mellouli, senior swimmer Joanna Fargus and junior women's diver Blythe Hartley all earned Most Valuable awards at USC's Swimming and Diving Banquet over the weekend.

Mellouli was a men's team best four-time All-American and won an NCAA title in the 400y IM. Hartley won her third career NCAA title in March when she won the 3-meter springboard while Fargus returned to the All-American podium as part of USC's All-American 800y free relay.

Men's Team Awards

Most Improved: Sam Masson
Most Inspirational Swimmer: Mihaly Flaskay
Josh Ilika Spirit Award: Tyler Storie
Most Valuable: Ous Mellouli
Team Captains: Tyler Panos and Paul Fahey
Ingrid Daland Scholarship Award: Connor Hall
Giles Pellerin Endowed Scholarship Award: Larsen Jensen
Coaches Award: Larsen Jensen
Senior awards: Paul Fahey, Ray Vincent and Richard Gosper

Men's Team Records Set (Yards)

400 Individual Medley - Ous Mellouli - 3:39.19
100 Breaststroke - Mihaly Flaskay -52.92
200 Medley Relay - Viktor Bodrogi, Mihaly Flaskay, Sam Masson, Sean Sussex - 1:26.45
400 Medley Relay - Viktor Bodrogi, Mihaly Flaskay, Sam Masson & Ous Mellouli - 3:10.70
1000 Freestyle - Larsen Jensen - 8:45.76

Women's Team Awards

Most Improved: Kristina Sieper
Most Inspirational Swimmer: Marisa Kozak
Megan Holiday Spirit Award: Joanna Fargus
Most Valuable: Joanna Fargus
Captains: Joanna Fargus and Marisa Kozak
Ingrid Daland Scholarship Award: Marisa Kozak
Kathy Mika Endowed Scholarship: Blythe Hartley
Coaches Award: Cait Connealy
Senior Awards: Marisa Kozak and Joanna Fargus

Diving Awards

Most Valuable: Blythe Hartley
Most Improved: Kenny Jenkins
)Most Inspirational Diver: Kim Popp
Team Captain: Ray Vincent

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network