Skip to main content

Women's Basketball Announces Team Awards

Apr 18, 2005

BOULDER -- The annual University of Colorado Basketball Banquet was held Sunday evening at the Omni Interlocken Hotel in Broomfield as the women's basketball staff handed out the team awards for the 2004-05 season.

Senior guard Veronica Johns-Richardson was named CU's most valuable player. Johns-Richardson earned honorable mention to the All-Big 12 Conference team, was third in scoring and led the Buffaloes in steals and assists. Senior Sarah Lini won the Coaches Award which recognizes attitude, leadership, desire and commitment.

Junior Whitney Law won the Crystal Adams Scholar-Athlete Award. Law, a kinesiology major who sported a 3.767 GPA during the fall term, was a first-team Academic All-Big 12 pick.

Sophomore Anna Nedovic received the Chairwoman of the Boards award as she led the Buffaloes in rebounding with 6.5 per game. Kara Richards earned the Rookie of the Year Award after leading the squad in blocks and earning All Big 12 Freshman Team honors from the Waco Tribune-Herald. Freshman Jackie McFarland won the Take Charge Award for her defensive efforts as she led the Buffaloes with 12 charges. Freshman Yari Escalera earned the team's Most Improved Player Award.