Men's Golf Team Plays At Pac-10 Championships April 25-27

April 21, 2005

Two-Page Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

ASU TRAVELS NORTH FOR PAC-10 CHAMPIONSHIP: The Arizona StateUniversity men's golf team travels to Walla Walla, Wash. for thePac-10 Championships April 25-27 at Walla Walla Country Club (par-71,6,606 yards). The 10 schools will play 36 holes on Monday, April 25,followed by single rounds on Tuesday, April 26, and Wendesday, April27. The Sun Devils will tee with defending NCAA champion Californiabeginning at 7:48 a.m. for its first 36 holes on Monday. The Pac-10Championship counts the low five scores from the six-man teams. Livescoring of the tournament will be available at

GETTING MOORE: Senior Pat Moore won the U.S. Intercollegiate held atStanford Golf Course April 16-17 with a 2-under 208 (71-70-67) andhas posted two top-10 finishes in his past two tournaments, as healso finished sixth at the ASU Thunderbird Invitational April 8-9with a 1-over 214 (68-74-72). The senior from Washington High Schoolin Phoenix has earned Pac-10 All-Academic honorable mention honorsthe past two seasons and has played in 27 collegiate events. Moorewill get another shot at a championship at Stanford May 19-21, as theCardinal plays host to the NCAA West Regional.

ASU MEN'S GOLFPac-10 Lineup(Tourn.-Rds.-Avg.)

Pat Moore6-1/Sr./Phoenix, Ariz.10-29-72.24*U.S. IntercollegiateMedalist (April 16-17)*Two top-10 finishesthis year

Alejandro Canizares5-10/Jr./Manilva, Spain11-32-71.66*Big Ten/Pac-10 Challenge, Arizona/PING and Puerto Rico Classic Medalist*Six Career Individual Titles*Selected to third European Palmer Cup team

Niklas Lemke6-1/So./Linkoping, Sweden10-29-74.17

Jesse Mueller5-8/Sr./Mesa, Ariz.10-29-72.44

Charly Simon6-3/Jr./Marbella, Spain6-17-72.88

Kendall Critchfield5-8/Sr./Mesa, Ariz.6-17-76.29

ASU AT THE PAC-10 CHAMPIONSHIPS: Arizona State has won 11 Pac-10titles in its 26 seasons, including a conference record six straightfrom 1995-2000. In addition to the six straight Pac-10 titles, ASU'sother five Pac-10 titles have come in 1979 (its first year in theleague), 1981, 1989, 1990 and 1993.

GOING FOR SEVEN: ASU head coach Randy Lein has led ASU to sevenPac-10 titles in his 12 seasons. ASU won titles in 1993, Lein's firstyear, and then won six straight from 1995-2000. ASU finished secondin 2001 and 2004 and third in 1994 and 2003. Since joining the Pac-10in the 1978-79 school year, ASU has finished out of the top five justtwice in its 26 championships (ninth in 2002 and sixth in 1983).

SUN DEVILS AS PAC-10 MEDALISTS: Paul Casey won three straight Pac-10titles from 1999-2000, which is the last time a Sun Devil won thetitle and is a conference record for consecutive Pac-10 titles. OtherSun Devils who have won the Pac-10 championship are Scott Johnson(1997), Phil Mickelson (1990), co-medalists Dan Forsman and TonyGrimes (1981), Jim Bertoncino (co-medalist in 1980) and co-medalistsScott Watkins and Dan Croonquist (1979).

SUN DEVILS AS PAC-10 PLAYER OF THE YEAR: A list of Sun Devils whohave won Pac-10 Player of the Year honors: Scott Watkins (1979co-player of the year), Dan Forsman (1981 co-player of the year),Billy Mayfair (1987), Phil Mickelson (1990, 1991 and 1992), ToddDemsey (1994), Paul Casey (2000) and Jeff Quinney (2001 co-player ofthe Year).

ASU QUICK NOTES: ASU has finished in the top five at the NCAAs infive of the past 10 years and has won the Pac-10 title six of thepast 10 years...the Sun Devils also won national championships in1990 and 1996...ASU is led by 13th-year head coach Randy Lein, the1996 National Coach of the Year and a seven-time winner of Pac-10Coach of the Year (five times at ASU and twice at USC)...last year,ASU finished five strokes behind Arizona in the Pac-10 Championship,just the third margin of victory by five strokes or less in theprevious 11 Pac-10 titles.

Randy Lein: Randy Lein has coached 60 tournament victories in his 22seasons, tutored 48 All-Americans and added the top accolade incollegiate golf in 1995-96 - the NCAA title - to his collection asthe Sun Devils won the title in Chattanooga, Tenn., with athree-stroke victory over UNLV at the Honors Course. In his 13thseason as ASU's coach, Lein has guided ASU to 37 tournament victories(including a school record six in 1995-96), seven Pac-10 titles, fourNCAA West Regional wins (three of the past five) and eight top-10finishes at the NCAAs including the 1996 title. In addition, Lein hastutored NCAA medalists Todd Demsey and Alejandro Canizares and 12All-Americans (27 occasions): Todd Demsey (3), Chris Hanell (3), PaulCasey (3), Cade Stone, Chris Stutts, Joey Snyder (2), Scott Johnson(2), Darren Angel (2), Jeff Quinney (3), Matt Jones (2), Chez Reavie(3) and Alejandro Canizares (2). He has won Pac-10 Coach-of-the-Yearfive times (1993, 1995, 1996, 1999 and 2000) while at ASU and twiceat USC (1980 and 1986). Lein (pronounced 'Line') is a 1975 graduateof Cal State Northridge.

ASU'S BEST: Junior Alejandro Canizares is looking to bump himself outof the ASU top-10 single-season stroke average list. After 11tournaments this year, Canizares has a 71.66 stroke average, just .01off his freshman year mark when he posted a 71.65 mark in eightevents. His 71.38 stroke average last year is seventh-best in ASUhistory.

ASU MEN'S GOLF SCORING AVERAGES (1987-2005)Rk.	Name, Events	Year	Stroke Average1.	Paul Casey, 10	1999-2000	69.872.	Phil Mickelson, 12	1991-92	69.953.	Phil Mickelson, 11	1990-91	70.084.	Billy Mayfair, 13	1986-87	70.595.	Phil Mickelson, 14	1989-90	70.826.	Chez Reavie, 14	2003-04	71.057.	Alejandro Canizares, 14	2003-04	71.388.	Chris Hanell, 13	1996-97	71.449.	Matt Jones, 12	2000-01	71.4610.	Alejandro Canizares, 8	2002-03	71.65	Alejandro Canizares, 11	2004-05	71.66

NEXT UP: The NCAA West Regional will be held at Stanford Golf CourseMay 19-21, while the NCAA championships will be held at Caves ValleyGolf Course in Maryland May 31-June 3.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder