Pac-10 Announces 2005 Women's Golf Honors

April 21, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- ARIZONA STATE'S Louise Stahle has been named Pac-10 Golfer of the Year as well as Pac-10 Freshman of the Year. UCLA head coach Carrie Forsyth has been named Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year, in voting by the Pac-10 women's golf coaches, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Stahle, a freshman from Lund, Sweden, came from four strokes behind in the final round to win the 2005 Pac-10 Individual title at the Ruby Hill Golf Club in Pleasanton, Calif. (April 18-20). This is the ninth Pac-10 individual title for Arizona State. She carded a five-under 67 in the final round to earn a two-stroke victory at nine-under 207. Her 207 mark ties the lowest 56-hole individual total in Pac-10 Championhip history along with Mhairi McKay of Stanford in 1997. Stahle is the top-ranked player in the country, being the first Sun Devil to hold the nation's No. 1 spot since All-American Miriam Nagl in 2000 and she also holds the nation's best stroke average at 71.25. Stahle has won three tournament titles and has finished in the top five in seven of eight events this season.

Forsyth, in her sixth year, directed UCLA to its second consecutive Pac-10 Title this season. Under Forsyth's guidance, the Bruins entered the Pac-10 Championships as the No. 2 team in the nation. The first place finish also marked UCLA's fourth straight tournament title and fifth overall this season. In addition, under Forsyth, three UCLA golfers were ranked in the Top-15 in the Nation.


Name School Yr. Hometown
Louise Stahle Arizona State Fr. Lund, SwedenAmie Cochran UCLA Fr. Torrance, Calif.Susie Mathews UCLA Jr. Adelaide, AustraliaCharlotte Mayorkas UCLA Sr. Chula Vista, Calif.Ana Kostina Washington State Jr. Nakhabino, RussiaPaige Mackenzie Washington Jr. Yakima, Wash.


Name School Yr. Hometown
Kim Welch Washington State Sr. Sacramento, Calif.Cassandra Kirkland Arizona Jr. Saint-Nom-La-Bretech, FranceTiffany Tavee Arizona State So. Gilbert, Ariz.Alissa Kuczka Arizona State Jr. Phoenix, Ariz.Sofie Andersson California Jr. Angelholm, SwedenJohnna Nealy Oregon Sr. Grants Pass, Ore.

Honorable Mention: Irene Cho, USC; Tanya Dergal, USC; Lani Elston, Arizona; Mar Garcia, Arizona; Kelly Husted, Stanford; Hannah Jun, UCLA; Sung Ea Lee, Washington; Catalina Marin, USC; Kim McCready, Oregon; Amber Prange, Washington; Dewi-Claire Schreefel, USC; Sophia Sheridan, California; Kim Shin, Washington; Erin Tone, Arizona State; Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana, Stanford.

PAC-10 GOLFER OF THE YEAR: Louise Stahle, Arizona State

PAC-10 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Louise Stahle, Arizona State

PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: Carrie Forsyth, UCLA

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network