Stahle Named Pac-10 Player and Newcomer of the Year

April 21, 2005

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - ARIZONA STATE'S Louise Stahle has been named Pac-10 Golfer of the Year as well as Pac-10 Freshman of the Year. UCLA head coach Carrie Forsyth has been named Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year, in voting by the Pac-10 women's golf coaches, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

Stahle, a freshman from Lund, Sweden, came from four strokes behind in the final round to win the 2005 Pac-10 Individual title at the Ruby Hill Golf Club in Pleasanton, Calif. (April 18-20). This is the ninth Pac-10 individual title for Arizona State. She carded a five-under 67 in the final round to earn a two-stroke victory at nine-under 207. Her 207 mark ties the lowest 56-hole individual total in Pac-10 Championhip history along with Mhairi McKay of Stanford in 1997. Stahle is the top-ranked player in the country, being the first Sun Devil to hold the nation's No. 1 spot since All-American Miriam Nagl in 2000 and she also holds the nation's best stroke average at 71.25. Stahle has won three tournament titles and has finished in the top five in seven of eight events this season.

Forsyth, in her sixth year, directed UCLA to its second consecutive Pac-10 Title this season. Under Forsyth's guidance, the Bruins entered the Pac-10 Championships as the No. 2 team in the nation. The first place finish also marked UCLA's fourth straight tournament title and fifth overall this season. In addition, under Forsyth, three UCLA golfers were ranked in the Top-15 in the Nation.

Stahle is the second Sun Devil to earn Pac-10 Freshman of the Year honors. The other was Miriam Nagl in 2000. Junior Alissa Kuczka and sophomore Tiffany Tavee have earned second-team All-Pac-10 honors after being honorable-mention selections last season, while senior Erin Tone's honorable-mention accolade is the first all-conference honor of her career.


Name School Yr. Hometown
Louise Stahle Arizona State Fr. Lund, Sweden
Amie Cochran UCLA Fr. Torrance, Calif.
Susie Mathews UCLA Jr. Adelaide, Australia
Charlotte Mayorkas UCLA Sr. Chula Vista, Calif.
Ana Kostina Washington State Jr. Nakhabino, Russia
Paige Mackenzie Washington Jr. Yakima, Wash.


Name School Yr. Hometown
Kim Welch Washington State Sr. Sacramento, Calif.
Cassandra Kirkland Arizona Jr. Saint-Nom-La-Bretech, France
Tiffany Tavee Arizona State So. Gilbert, Ariz.
Alissa Kuczka Arizona State Jr. Phoenix, Ariz.

Sofie Andersson California Jr. Angelholm, Sweden
Johnna Nealy Oregon Sr. Grants Pass, Ore.

Honorable Mention: Erin Andrews, Oregon; Irene Cho, USC; Calire Dury, California; Lani Elston, Arizona; Veronica Felibert, USC; Mar Garcia, Arizona; Kelly Husted, Stanford; Hannah Jun, UCLA; Sung Ea Lee, Washington; Catalina Marin, USC; Kimberly McCreedy, Oregon; Amber Prange, Washington; Dewi-Claire Schreefel, USC; Sophia Sheridan, California; Kim Shin, Washington; Erin Tone, Arizona State; Jennifer Tangtiphaiboontana, Stanford; Lauren Todd, Stanford; Whitney Welch, Arizona.

PAC-10 GOLFER OF THE YEAR: Louise Stahle, Arizona State

PAC-10 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Louise Stahle, Arizona State

PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: Carrie Forsyth, UCLA

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder