Day One Pac-10 Championships Summary

April 22, 2005

Ojai, CA - The California men's tennis team concluded a successful first day at the Pac-10 Individual Championships this evening in Ojai, Calif. The Pac-10's, held in conjunction with the 105th Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament, will decide the Conference's singles and doubles champions.

The men's team came out ahead in several hard-fought matches in the singles main draw Round of 32. Sophomore Daniel Sebescen recovered from dropping the opening set to Arizona State's Clinton Letcher, 3-6; 6-2; 6-1. Junior Lennart Maack was also a three-set winner, defeating Chris Lam of UCLA, 7-5; 6-4; 6-3.

No. 9 Conor Niland advanced to the Round of 16, defeating Daniel Chu of Washington in three sets, 6-1; 3-6; 6-1.

The Bears won two of three Round of 32 matches in the invite draw. Freshman Ken Nakahara defeated Michael Ricks of Washington, 6-0; 6-3, while sophomore Tyler Browne beat Stanford's Dave Ryan, 6-3; 6-1.

Niland advanced to the quarterfinals, defeating Philipp Gruendler of UCLA, 3-6; 6-1; 6-2.

Three Bears advanced to the quarterfinals in the invite draw. Nakahara defeated Jarryd Cooper of USC in straight sets, 6-2; 6-0.

Wallace bounced back from dropping the first set against Andy Kuhzarzsky of Washington, 5-7; 6-4; 6-1.

Browne earned a win over Francois Vandermerwe of Arizona in straight sets, 6-4; 6-2.

The Bears continue Pac-10 Championship action Friday, April 22 in Ojai, Calif.

Lennart Maack (Cal) d. Chris Lam (UCLA), 7-5; 4-6; 6-3Drew Hoskins (USC) d. Patrick Briaud (Cal), 6-4; 5-7; 7-6(3)Conor Niland (Cal) d. Daniel Chu (Wash), 6-3; 3-6; 6-1Singles Main Draw - Round of 16Sven Swinnen (Oreg) d. Lennart Maack (Cal), 7-5; 7-5Sam Warburg (Stan) d. Daniel Sebescen (Cal), 6-2; 6-2Conor Niland (Cal) d. Philipp Gruendler (UCLA), 3-6; 6-1; 6-2Singles Invite Draw - Round of 32Chris Floyd (Wash) d. John Petit (Cal), 6-1; 6-2Ken Nakahara (Cal) d. Michael Ricks (Wash), 6-0; 6-3Tyler Browne (Cal) d. Dave Ryan (Stan), 6-3; 6-1Singles Invite Draw - Round of 16Ken Nakahara (Cal) d. Jarryd Cooper (USC), 6-2; 6-0Dean Wallace (Cal) d. Andy Kuhzarzsky (Wash), 5-7; 6-4; 6-1Tyler Browne (Cal) d. Francois Vandermerwe (Arizona), 6-3; 6-2
Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder