Three Beavers Selected in the NFL Draft

April 24, 2005

Corvallis, Ore. - Three former Oregon State University football student-athletes were selected in the 2005 National Football League Draft, held April 24-25, bringing the Beavers' total to 10 draftees over the last three years.

Defensive lineman Bill Swancutt was a sixth round selection (184th) of the Detroit Lions and quarterback Derek Anderson (213th) also went in the sixth round to the Baltimore Ravens, rejoining his former OSU teammate defensive lineman Dwan Edwards. Offensive lineman Doug Nienhuis was a seventh round selection (254th) of the Seattle Seahawks.

Swancutt is the third defensive linemen from OSU selected in the Draft over the last three years, joining Edwards (2nd/Ravens/04) and James Lee (5th/Packers/03). He concluded his career as the school's record holder for quarterback sacks (37) and tackles-for-loss (59.5). He was named the 2004 co-recipient of the Pac-10 Conference's Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year - the first player ever from OSU to be named MVP of the conference on either side of the ball. He also was honored with the Morris Trophy for the top defensive lineman in the league, an award selected by the conference's offensive linemen.

The Salem native was the Defensive MVP of the Senior Bowl. He was a two-time conference first team All-Academic selection, and earned second team as a sophomore. He concluded his career with 181 career tackles and started 38 straight games.

Anderson is the first quarterback from Oregon State to be drafted since Erik Wilhelm was a third round pick of the Cincinnati Bengals in 1989. Ironically, Anderson broke nearly all of Wilhelm's school records for passing.

The Scappoose native left OSU as the first quarterback to ever lead the program to three bowl games. He completed his collegiate career as the school's record holder for touchdown passes (79), passing yardage (11,249), and total offense (10,716). His passing yardage is 11th in NCAA history and second only to Carson Palmer (USC/11,818) in the Pac-10.

Anderson is one of only six quarterbacks in the history of the Conference to pass for 10,000-plus yards. He was named the offensive MVP of last December's Insight Bowl after passing for 358 yards and four touchdowns in a 38-21 win over Notre Dame.

The 6-6 right-hander threw for a school record 29 touchdowns and led the Conference with a 301.2 passing yards per game average as a senior.

Nienhuis is the first offensive lineman from OSU to be drafted since Mitch White was a sixth round selection of the New Orleans Saints in 2001.

Nienhuis was a 2004 First Team All-Pac-10 Conference selection. He started 38 consecutive games at right tackle and played in 47 overall. During his career, he blocked for OSU's two career rushing leaders, Ken Simonton and Steven Jackson, and for one of the school's top quarterbacks Derek Anderson.

Several other Beavers are expected to sign free agent contracts in the near future.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder