Husky Golfers Travel to Florida for NCAA Regional

April 25, 2005

2005 Washington Statistics and Results
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Seattle - In order to make the relatively short trip to Sunriver, Ore. for the 2005 NCAA Women's Golf Championship, Washington is going to have to travel across the country to qualify. The Huskies were named the No. 3 seed in the East Regional today when the NCAA announced the fields for its three regional championships. Washington will compete with 21 other teams May 5-7 at the University of Florida Golf Course in Gainesville for one of eight spots to advance to the NCAA Championships.

Currently ranked eighth in the latest Golfweek standings, the Huskies are seeded behind top-ranked Duke and sixth-ranked Pepperdine. Ohio State, ranked 10th and the Big Ten Conference champions, is the fourth seed in the east. Florida, ranked 11th is seeded fifth while 13th-ranked Tulane is sixth, 19th-ranked Furman is seventh and 30th-ranked Virginia is the No. 8 seed.

The top eight teams and top two individuals will advance from the three regional sites to the NCAA Championships May 17-20 at the Meadows Course at the Sunriver Resort. Washington placed fourth at last year's West Regional Championship at Stanford and went on to a sixth-place showing at the NCAA Championships at Auburn.

Washington's lineup for the NCAA East Regional will include Paige Mackenzie, Amber Prange, Sung Ea Lee, Courtney McCracken and Kim Shin. Mackenzie, Prange and Lee each played in the NCAA regional last year. The Huskies are looking to qualify for the NCAAs for the fourth time since 2001.

Mackenzie, who was named a first-team All-Pac-10 selection, leads Washington with a 73.59 stroke average. Shin, a freshman, is second at 74.79. Lee is third at 75.27 while Prange is fourth at 76.23 and McCracken is at 77.14. Prange was UW's top finisher at the Pac-10 Championships, placing ninth.

East RegionalThe East regional will be played May 5-7 at the University of Florida Golf Course, Gainesville, Florida, hosted by the University of Florida. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

Teams: 1. Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)2. Pepperdine3. Washington4. Ohio State (Big Ten Conference)5. Florida6. Tulane (Conference USA)7. Furman (Southern Conference)8. Virginia9. North Carolina-Wilmington10. Mississippi State11. North Carolina State12. South Carolina13. Vanderbilt14. Miami (Florida)15. East Carolina16. Coastal Carolina (Big South Conference)17. Princeton (Ivy Group)18. James Madison (Colonial Athletic Association)19. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)20. Jacksonville State (Ohio Valley Conference)21. CampbellIndividuals: 1. Adrienne White, Louisville2. Meghan Little, Louisville3. Brooke Mangan, Alabama-Birmingham

Central Regional The Central regional will be played May 5-7 at Jerry S. Rawls Course, Lubbock, Texas, hosted by Texas Tech University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

Teams: 1. Auburn (Southeastern Conference)2. Arizona State3. New Mexico4. LSU5. Wake Forest6. Texas7. Missouri8. Arkansas9. Michigan10. Tulsa (Western Athletic Conference)11. TCU12. Southern Methodist13. Purdue14. Michigan State15. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)16. Baylor17. Texas A& M18. South Florida19. Texas Tech20. Notre Dame21. Long Island (Northeast Conference)Individuals: 1. Louise Kenney, Iowa State2. Emily Milberger, Oklahoma3. Merynn Ito, Nebraska

West Regional The West regional will be played May 5-7 at New Mexico State University Golf Course, Las Cruces, New Mexico, hosted by New Mexico State University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

Teams: 1. UCLA (Pacific-10 Conference)2. Georgia3. Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference)4. Tennessee5. Southern California6. Arizona7. California8. Washington State9. Stanford10. UNLV (Mountain West Conference)11. Oregon12. San Francisco13. UC Irvine (Big West Conference)14. Brigham Young15. Colorado State16. Portland State (Big Sky Conference)17. Northwestern18. Oral Roberts (Mid-Continent Conference)19. Illinois State (Missouri Valley Conference)20. Georgia State (Atlantic Sun Conference)21. Denver (Sun Belt Conference)Individuals: 1. Kay Hoey, Long Beach State2. Laura Luethke, Fresno State3. Renee Skidmore, Idaho

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder