Pat Moore Continues Solid Play At Pac-10 Men's Golf Championships

April 25, 2005

Phoenix native Pat Moore continued his solid play Monday for the Arizona State men's golf team through the first 36 holes of the Pac-10 Men's Golf Championships at the Walla Walla Country Club (par 71/6,066 yards) in Walla Walla, Wash.

Moore, who is coming off his first collegiate victory at the U.S. Intercollegiate held at Stanford April 16-17, is at 8-under 134 after shooting 67 in each of the first two rounds and has a three-stroke lead over UCLA's Kevin Chappell (67-70) and California's Michael Jensen (69-68).

Moore entered the Pac-10 Championship on a hot streak, as his U.S. Intercollegiate win was his second straight top-10 finish. He shot a 2-under 208 (71-70-67) at Stanford after finishing sixth at the ASU Thunderbird Invitational April 8-9 with a 1-over 214 (68-74-72).

Moore is trying to become the first Sun Devil to win a Pac-10 title since Paul Casey won his third straight in 2000. Scott Johnson (1997) also won a Pac-10 title under current head coach Randy Lein, who has led ASU to seven Pac-10 titles, including six straight from 1995-2000.

UCLA leads by two strokes over ASU, as the Bruins shot a 3-under 707 (352-355). ASU is at 1-under 709 (351-358).

Alejandro Canizares is tied for seventh at 2-under 140 (71-69), while Jesse Mueller is tied for 17th at 1-over 143 (70-73).

Six players compete in the Pac-10 Tournament, as Sun Devils Niklas Lemke is tied for 33rd at 4-over 146 (73-73), Charly Simon is tied for 42nd at 6-over 148 (72-76) and Kendall Critchfield is tied for 53rd at 9-over 151 (71-80).

Defending Pac-10 champion Arizona is tied for sixth at 12-over 722, as Arizona (2004), UCLA (2003) and USC (2002) have won the past three league titles. ASU has won 11 Pac-10 titles in its 26 seasons. In addition to its six straight from 1995-2000, ASU also won titles in 1979, 1981, 1989, 1990 and 1993.

The teams will play 18 holes on Tuesday and Wednesday. ASU and UCLA will begin teeing at 9:36 a.m.

For full results, go to

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder