Women's Golf Earns Trip to NCAA Central Regional May 5-7

April 25, 2005

TEMPE, Ariz. - The fourth-ranked Arizona State University women's golf team has earned a bid to the NCAA Central Regional Championships, which will be held May 5-7 at the par 72, 7,100-yard Jerry S. Rawls Course in Lubbock, Texas. The selection marks ASU's 13th consecutive invitation in 13 years of NCAA regional action.

The Sun Devils have been selected as the No. 2 seed at the NCAA Central Regional after finishing second at the Pac-10 Championships with four players in the top 25, including conference medalist and Pac-10 Golfer and Newcomer of the Year Louise Stahle. Southeastern Conference champion Auburn is the top seed in the Central Regional.

Twenty-one teams and three individuals have qualified for each of the three regionals with New Mexico State University playing host to the West Regional at the NMSU Golf Course in Las Cruces, N.M., Texas Tech University hosting the Central Regional at the Jerry S. Rawls Course in Lubbock, Texas, and the University of Florida playing host to the East Regional at the University Golf Course in Gainesville, Fla.

The top eight teams and two individuals from each region will qualify for the 2005 NCAA Division I Women's Golf Championships to be held May 17-20 at the Meadows Golf Course in Sunriver, Ore. (Oregon State University, host).

Last year, ASU finished seventh at the NCAA West Regional, held May 6-8 in Palo Alto, Calif., at the Stanford Golf Course. With their seventh-place finish, the Sun Devils qualified for their 13th straight trip to the NCAA Championships, the third-longest active streak in the nation. Sophomore Danelle Perata was ASU's top finisher at last year's regional, tying for 25th individually.

The Sun Devils have won an NCAA Regional three times with their last title coming in 1997.

2005 NCAA Central Regional Information

Date: May 5-7, 2005

Course: Jerry S. Rawls Course (par 72, 7,100 yards)

Location: Lubbock, Texas

Participating Schools (21, listed by seed): Auburn, Arizona State, New Mexico, LSU, Wake Forest, Texas, Missouri, Arkansas, Michigan, Tulsa, TCU, Southern Methodist, Purdue, Michigan State, Kent State, Baylor, Texas A&M, South Florida, Texas Tech, Notre Dame, Long Island.

Participating Individuals (3): Louise Kenney, Iowa State; Emily Milberger, Oklahoma; Merynn Ito, Nebraska.

Tee Times: Play will begin at 7:30 a.m. Central Time each morning from the first and 10th tees.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder