Rob Grube Tabbed Pac-10 Freshman Of The Year

April 29, 2005

Walnut Creek, Calif. - Alejandro Canizares of Arizona State has been named Pac-10 Golfer of the Year, Rob Grube of Stanford has been named Freshman of the Year, and Washington coach Matt Thurmond has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year in voting by the Pac-10 men's golf coaches. In addition, the 2005 All-Pac-10 Men's Golf Team selected by the coaches was announced.

Grube, from Hinsdale, IL, capped a sensational freshman season with a fourth-place finish in the Pac-10 Championships. In 12 tournaments this year, the freshman posted five top 10 finishes, including a tie for second at the U.S. Intercollegiate and the fourth-place finish at the Pac-10 Championships. His stroke average of 72.14 is tops among Pac-10 freshmen.

Canizares, a junior from Manilva, Spain, was a unanimous Player of the Year selection by the coaches. A two-time All-America selection and the 2003 NCAA champion as a freshman, Canizares is the top ranked Pac-10 player in the current Golfweek rankings. He has won three of the 12 tournaments he entered this year and posted two other top 10 finishes. He raised his career victory total to six tournaments with wins this year in the Big Ten/Pac-10 Challenge, the Arizona/Ping Intercollegiate and the Puerto Rico Classic. He is sporting a stroke average 71.59 per round heading into post-season competition.

Thurmond directed a young Washington team to a solid season capped by a stunning comeback victory in the Pac-10 Championships. The Huskies, in last place after the first round and still trailing by 17 strokes entering the final round of play, made up all of that ground to catch Arizona State and edge the Sun Devils in the tie-breaker to take the Conference title. The feat was made even more remarkable by the fact the Huskies title-winning team had three freshmen and two sophomores in its six-player lineup. It marked Washington's first Pac-10 title since 1988. In addition to winning the Pac-10 Championship, the Huskies won the Oregon Duck Invitational and posted top three finishes in the Duke Classic and Opus Northwest Husky Invitational. Thurmond, in his fourth season at Washington, has led the Huskies to the NCAA Tournament every year and has finished in the top 12 each time.

The Pac-10 golf awards and the All-Pac-10 Team are voted on by the Conference head golf coaches. Following is the complete list of honors:


NameAlejandro Canizares, Arizona StateRob Grube, StanfordBen Hayes, USCJames Lepp, WashingtonHenry Liaw, ArizonaPat Moore, Arizona StateErik Olson, Washington


NameDaniel Im, UCLANathan Lashley, ArizonaTyler Ley, USCMatt Ma, OregonJesse Mueller, Arizona StateAlex Prugh, WashingtonTaylor Wood, USC

Honorable Mention: Brandon Beck, So., CAL; Zach Bixler, Fr., WASH; Kevin Blue, Sr., STAN; Kevin Chappell, Fr., UCLA; Travis Esway, Fr., ARIZ; Jeff Hood, Sr., CAL; Michael Jensen, Fr., CAL; Niklas Lemke, So., ASU; Kipp Riehle, Sr., ARIZ; Justin St. Clair, Jr., ORE.

PAC-10 GOLFER OF THE YEAR: Alejandro Canizares, Jr., Arizona State

PAC-10 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Rob Grube, Stanford

PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEAR: Matt Thurmond, Washington

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder