Gymnastics Awards Announced

May. 2, 2005

CORVALLIS, Ore. - Thérèse Videan was honored as the Most Valuable Gymnast at the Oregon State gymnastics awards celebration, signaling the end to the 2005 season and the culmination of the gymnastics careers of six seniors.

Throughout the afternoon there were plenty of laughs as well as quite a few tears as the each of the six seniors (Heidi Goehring, Daylee Ingalls, Heather Justus, Lindsay Nelson, Christa Piazza and Videan) plus fifth-year team manager, Jennie Thompson, stepped to the microphone to say their good-byes to teammates, coaches, staff, and boosters.

Perhaps the most significant moment of the event came when Nelson was recognized by her teammates with a standing ovation upon receiving the Joy Selig Coaches' Award. Nelson was recognized for putting her life, and graduate school, on hold to return to the Beavers for a fifth season, providing invaluable leadership to a team that featured nine freshmen.

Freshman Megan Devencenzi earned the Newcomer of the Year award for her effort on the vault and floor exercise. Devencenzi competed on vault in all but one meet in 2005 eventually moving into the anchor spot in the vault lineup. Devencenzi also was a regular in the floor lineup for the Beavers.

In an award voted on by the gymnasts, Christa Piazza was recognized with the Most Inspirational Award. Piazza, a fourth year non-scholarship athlete, was recognized for her role as a team captain and her unquestioned positive outlook despite struggling with nagging injuries throughout the season and never quite knowing when she would be thrust into the lineup.

Also receiving awards were Justus, who was the Most Improved, and Kim Sedlak, who received the Clutch Performer Award.

Several student-athletes were recognized for their efforts away from the gym with an Honor Roll Award. Fourteen of eighteen members of the gymnastics squad maintained 3.00 accumulative GPA's including: seniors, Goehring, Justus, Nelson, Piazza and Videan; junior, Chrissy Lamun; redshirt freshmen, Jacey Draper, Keegan Fitzgerald and Sedlak; and freshmen, Courtney Dennison, Devencenzi, Yuki Lamb, D'Anna Piro and Claire Pierce.

Receiving Outstanding Scholar Awards for earning a 4.00 GPA during the 2004-05 academic year were Fitzgerald, Pierce, Lamb and Piro.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder