NCAA Announces Field For Men's Golf Regionals As Cardinal Set To Play On Home Course

May 9, 2005

Indianapolis, Ind. - The NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee has selected the teams and individuals that will participate in the 2005 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships.

The championships will be conducted June 1-4 at Caves Valley Golf Club in Owings Mills, Maryland. Loyola College (Maryland) is the host institution for this year's championships.

Three regional tournaments, encompassing the current nine regions, will be conducted May 19-21. A total of 27 teams and six individuals not on selected teams were assigned to each regional site. 10 teams and two individuals not on advancing teams will move on from each regional to the championship finals.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

Stanford Golf Course in Stanford, California
Hosted by Stanford University

Teams (seeded in the following order):1. UNLV2. New Mexico  (Mountain West)3. Auburn4. Arizona State5. UCLA6. Arizona7. Brigham Young8. South Carolina9. Southern California10. Washington  (Pac-10)11. LSU12. Pepperdine  (West Coast)13. San Diego State14. UC Riverside  (Big West)15. St. Mary's (California)16. Stanford17. Texas-Arlington  (Southland)18. Colorado State19. Cal Poly20. Fresno State21. Oregon22. Denver23. South Alabama  (Sun Belt)24.  Illinois State  (Missouri Valley)25. Samford  (Ohio Valley)26. Princeton  (Ivy)27. Central Connecticut State  (Northeast)

Individuals:1. Jeff Hood, California2. Garrett Sapp, UC Irvine3. David Kim, San Jose State4. Kenny Ebalo, Southern Utah5. Danny Bowen, New Mexico State

Warren Golf Course in South Bend, Indiana
Hosted by the University of Notre Dame

Teams (seeded in the following order):1. Oklahoma State  (Big 12)2. Augusta State3. TCU (C-USA)4. Kentucky  (SEC)5. Texas6. Purdue7. Minnesota8. Michigan State  (Big Ten)9. Oklahoma10. Kent State  (MAC)11. Texas Tech12. Southern Methodist (WAC)13. Tulsa14. Wichita State15. Xavier  (Atlantic 10)16. Texas A&M17. Kansas18. Arkansas19. Baylor20. Notre Dame  (Big East)21. Lamar22. Missouri23. Kansas State24. IUPUI  (Mid-Continent)25. Jackson State  (SWAC)26. Detroit  (Horizon)27. Loyola (Maryland)  (Metro Atlantic)

Individuals:1. Patrick Sullivan, Arkansas-Little Rock2. Scott Anderson, Ohio State3. Edward McGlasson, Colorado4. Garrett Chaussard, Illinois5. Chris Wilson, Northwestern6. Korey Mahoney, Eastern Michigan6. Tyler Goulding, Air Force

Golf Club of Tennessee in Nashville, Tennessee
Hosted by the Southeastern Conference

Teams (seeded in the following order):1. Georgia2. Georgia Tech3. Florida4. Duke  (Atlantic Coast)5. Wake Forest6. Tennessee7. Georgia Southern8. Alabama9. Clemson10. Georgia State  (Atlantic Sun)11. Coastal Carolina  (Big South)12. East Tennessee State  (Southern)13. Indiana14. Central Florida15. North Carolina16. Louisville17. Virginia18. Vanderbilt19. Charlotte20. Penn State21. North Carolina-Wilmington  (Colonial)22. Towson23. Rhode Island24. Rutgers25. Maryland26. Army (Patriot)27. Boston College

Individuals:1. Jordan Dempsey, Mississippi2. Rob Langley, Furman3. Michael Thompson, Tulane4. Robert Dinwiddie, Tennessee State5. Joe Deraney, Mississippi State6. Chris Wheeler, Tulane

courtesy of NCAA

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder