This Week In Pac-10 Rowing

May 9, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader


WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- The 2005 Pacific-10 Conference Rowing Championships (46th annual for men, 19th annual for women) will be held on Sunday, May 15, at the CSUS Aquatic Center in Sacramento, Calif. The Pacific Coast Rowing Championships will take place on Saturday, May 14.

TICKETS . . . Admission is $5 per person, per day. Parking is $7 per event day and a free parking lot with shuttle service is also available. For more information about Lake Natoma and/or the event facility, please visit the Sacramento State University Aquatic Center website at

THE SCHEDULE . . . Morning races begin at 8:00 a.m. on Sunday, with the first heat of the Women's Varsity Four competition, and run through approximately 10:00 a.m. Afternoon finals begin at approximately 11:30 a.m. A complete schedule will be released and posted to on Wednesday, May 11 once seedings have been announced.

THE COMPETITORS: Eight Pacific-10 institutions will compete -- CALIFORNIA, OREGON, OREGON STATE, STANFORD, UCLA, USC, WASHINGTON and WASHINGTON STATE. The Trojans will compete as a Pac-10 member on the women's side only. Other West Coast institutions competing include UC Davis, Sacramento State, San Diego State, University of San Diego and Gonzaga.

SCORING . . . The Pacific-10 Conference Men's and Women's Rowing Champions are determined by the order of finish of the Pac-10 crews in the following events: Men's Varsity Eight, Men's Second Varsity Eight, Men's Freshman/Novice Eight, Men's Varsity Four, Women's Varsity Eight, Women's Second Varsity Eight, Women's Novice Eight and Women's Varsity Four.

ROWING TRADITION . . . The WASHINGTON men will attempt to capture their second Pac-10 title in a row, while the CALIFORNIA women are seeking back-to-back Pac-10 titles. The Golden Bear women snapped a 12-year WASHINGTON monopoly on the Pac-10 trophy last year. UCLA won the women's crown in 1990 and 1991, while California and Washington have maintained a stronghold on the men's trophy since 1990.

SEEDINGS . . . Complete seedings will be announced after 5 p.m. on Tue., May 10, and can be found on the Pac-10 website, Here are the teams competing in the Varsity Eight competitions, in alphabetical order:

Men's Varsity Eight Competition:


Women's Varsity Eight Competition:

CALIFORNIA, Gonzaga, OREGON STATE, Sacramento State, San Diego State, STANFORD, UC DAVIS, UCLA, University of San Diego, USC, WASHINGTON, WASHINGTON STATE

NATIONAL RANKINGS . . . The latest U.S. Rowing/Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association NCAA Division I Varsity Eight Coaches Poll (May 4, 2005) has six Pac-10 women's teams listed among the top 20 -- No. 2 CALIFORNIA, No. 10 STANFORD, No. 12 WASHINGTON, No. 13 USC, No. 16 UCLA and No. 19 WASHINGTON STATE. On the men's side, four teams are ranked in the top 20 -- No. 2 CALIFORNIA, No. 4 WASHINGTON, No. 5 STANFORD and No. 10 OREGON STATE .

CONFERENCE HONORS . . . The Pac-10 All-Conference teams for men's and women's rowing will be named approximately one week after the completion of the national championships.

CHAMPIONSHIP RESULTS . . . Live scoring will be available on the Pac-10 website at (click on 'Rowing'). The direct link is Media members may contact Nicole Strange in the Pac-10 Office for more information.

NATIONAL COLLEGIATE CHAMPIONSHIPS . . . The Ninth Annual NCAA Women's Rowing Championships will be held May 27-29 at the CSUS Aquatic Center in Sacramento, Calif. The 2002 NCAA runner-up, Washington has won three national titles (1997, 1998, 2001). California finished fourth in 2004, while WASHINGTON placed fifth and WASHINGTON STATE came in ninth. The Men's Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) Championships will take place June 2-4 at Cooper River in Camden, N.J. WASHINGTON finished second last year and CALIFORNIA came in third. The Golden Bears captured four consecutive IRA national titles from 1999 to 2002. The Huskies won the national title in 1997.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder