Skip to main content

Track Places 29 On Academic Teams

May 10, 2005

             DALLAS - University of Colorado senior track and field student-athletes Liza Negriff, Austin Baillie, Matt McCue, Andy Miller, Jon Severy and Sara Slattery have been named first team Academic All-Big 12 for the third season and lead a contingent of 29 Buffs that were named to the first and second teams the league office announced Tuesday.


            The Buffs placed 17 student-athletes on the first team and 12 on the second team. Negriff (international affairs), Baillie (mechanical engineering), McCue (English), Miller (philosophy) and Severy (philosophy) all made their third academic all-conference teams days after receiving their undergraduate degrees from the Boulder campus while Slattery received her master's in education.


            To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.0 grade point average or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of her team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are eligible.


            Colorado will compete in the ninth annual Big 12 Outdoor Track and Field Championships, May 13-15 at the R.V. Christian Outdoor Track on the Kansas State campus in Manhattan, Kan.  A year ago the CU women finished ninth and the men, 10th.



Men's First Team:  Austin Baillie, Sr., Mechanical Engineering, Portland, Ore.; Payton Batliner, Jr., Music, Highlands Ranch, Colo.; Matt McCue, Sr., English, Iowa City, Iowa; Andy Miller, Sr., Philosophy, Littleton, Colo.; Sam Napp, Jr., Integrative Physiology, Longmont, Colo.; Bret Schoolmeester, Jr., Spanish, Denver, Colo.; Jon Severy, Sr., Philosophy, Aspen, Colo.; Blake Vanier, So., Aerospace Engineering, Boulder, Colo.; Brent Vaughn, So., Applied Mathematics, Aurora, Colo.; Ryan Willis, Jr., Finance, Milwaukee, Wis.


Men's Second Team: Anthony Chiulli, RS Fr., Management, Memphis Tenn.; Pete Janson, So., Biology, Dallas Texas

Eric Lee-O'Brien, Sr., Political Science, Portland, Ore.; Chase Mullen, Sr., Design Studies, Lyons, Colo.; George Pincock, So., Integrative Physiology, Carson City, Nev.


Women's First Team:  Christine Bolf, Jr., Accounting, Los Angeles, Calif.; Cortney Hutmacher, So., Integrative Physiology, Killdeer, N.D.; Renee Metivier, Sr., Mathematics, Flower Mound, Texas; Liza Negriff, Sr., International Affairs, Granite Bay, Calif.; Mikaela Raddatz, So., Sociology, Apple Valley, Minn.; Sara Slattery, Gr., Education, Phoenix, Ariz.; Jaclyn Sturm, So., English, Denver, Colo.


Women's Second Team:  Megan Baker, RS Fr., Kinesiology, Santa Cruz, Calif.; Amberly Casey, So., Open Option, Boulder, Colo.; Anna Magle, Sr., Kinesiology, Littleton, Colo.; Chelsea Peterson, Jr., Biology, Portage, Mich.; Hannah Warfield-Ruffato, Jr., Political Science, Sidney, Mont.; Kendall Grgas-Wheeler, Sr., Psychology, Duluth, Minn.