Pacific-10 Conference Champions!!! - No. 6 Softball Takes Title

May 14, 2005

Box Score

LOS ANGELES, Calif. - The No. 6 ranked Oregon State softball team made history on Sunday afternoon, despite dropping their game to No. 12 ranked UCLA, the Beavers earned a share of the Pacific-10 Conference title and picked up the conference's automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament.

Oregon State (40-14; 13-8 Pac-10) won the tiebreaker between No. 2 ranked California, No. 3 ranked Arizona and No. 4 ranked Stanford to garner the Pac-10 automatic berth. The Pac-10 Championship is the first for the Beavers and marks the first regular season Pac-10 title for any Oregon State women's sports program.

The Beavers will find out Sunday at 4:30 p.m. who they will face in the NCAA Regional Tournament. OSU will be making its seventh consecutive postseason appearance.

In Saturday's game, Beaver pitcher Brianne McGowan broke the OSU single season strikeout record by fanning nine batters to raise her total to 293 on the year.

The Bruins jumped in front when Jodie Legaspi belted a second inning home run over the left-center field fence, but the Beavers responded with a run of their own in the top of the third. Senior Alana Mendoza roped a shot to left field and eventually crossed the plate on Mia Longfellow's two-out single up the middle.

UCLA pounded five hits on its way to scoring four runs in the bottom of the third and taking a 5-1 advantage.

No. 6 Oregon State - 001 000 0 - 1 3 0
No. 12 UCLA - 014 000 x - 5 8 0
McGowan and Allen (OSU), Seldon and Zaplatosch (UCLA). WP - Seldon (19-10). LP - McGowan (33-8). HR - Legaspi (UCLA). 3B - Duran (UCLA). 2B - Alo (OSU), Dedmon (UCLA).

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network