2005 Softball Super Regional Action

May 17, 2005

The Division I championship provides for a field of 64 teams. The championship will be extended to three weekends of competition for the first time this year. Four teams will participate at each of 16 regional sites in a double-elimination tournament. Sixteen teams were seeded and placed at one of the regional sites.

The regional winners will advance to super regional competition for a best-of-three series May 27-28 (Memorial Day Weekend) at eight campus sites.

The remaining eight teams will advance to the WCWS, an eight-team, double-elimination tournament. The championship final will best-of-three-series for the first time this year. The WCWS will be conducted June 2-8 at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City.

2005 NCAA Super Regional Match ups

Regional No. 1 Winner vs. Regional No. 16 Winner
No. 16 WASHINGTON at *No. 1 Michigan

Regional No. 2 Winner vs. Regional No. 15 Winner
No. 2 CALIFORNIA at No. 15 Baylor

Regional No. 3 Winner vs. Regional No. 14 Winner
No. 14 Oklahoma at *No. 3 ARIZONA

Regional No. 4 Winner vs. Regional No. 13 Winner
Bethune Cookman at *No. 4 Texas

Regional No. 5 Winner vs. Regioanl No. 12 Winner
No. 12 Alabama at *No. 5 Texas A & M

Regional No. 6 Winner vs. Regioanl No. 11 Winner
No. 11 Tennessee at No. 6 STANFORD

Regional No. 7 Winner vs. Regional No. 10 Winner
No. 10 Georgia at *No. 7 UCLA

Regional No. 8 Winner vs. Regional No. 9 Winner
DePaul at No. 9 Northwestern

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder