Trojans Set For West Region Championships

May 17, 2005

USC's men's golf team, led by senior All-American Ben Hayes, will attempt to qualify for its third consecutive NCAA Championships when it plays in the NCAA West Region from Thursday to Saturday (May 19-21) at the Stanford Golf Course in Stanford, Calif.The No. 17 (Golfweek) Trojans are seeded ninth among 27 teams. The top 10 teams from each of the 27-school West, Central and East Regions will advance to the NCAA Championships, June 1-4, at Caves Valley Golf Club in Owings Mills, Md. Loyola College (Maryland) is the host institution for this year's championships.Live scoring of the regional can be found at

The Trojans have won two tournaments during the 2004-2005 season, winning the Opus Husky Invitational and the U.S. International by the Maple Fund, and also tied for first at the Big Ten/Pac-10 Challenge. The Trojans have also posted thirds at the Waikoloa Intercollegiate and the Ashworth Collegiate Invitational.

Senior Ben Hayes, a 2004 All-American and a 2005 All-Pac-10 first team selection, leads the Trojans with a round average of 72.39. Hayes (ranked No. 61 by Golfweek) opened the season by winning the Opus Husky Invitational and led the Trojans to the tournament title.

Junior Taylor Wood (No. 116) and Tyler Ley (No. 79) both earned 2005 All-Pac-10 second team honors and are second (72.90) and third (72.91) on the team, respectively, in round average. Wood's best finish is a second-place tie at the U.S. International while Ley posted a tie for third at the Jerry Pate Invitational.

Sophomore Jordan Nasser has a stroke average of 73.92 while sophomore Joshua Wooding stands at 74.30. Junior Bradley Shaw (74.42), senior Nico Bollini (76.83), senior Andry Fohrer (78.33) and sophomore Ben Miller (79.66) round out the team.

USC finished tied for fifth at Sunriver (Ore.), shooting a combined 881. Taylor Wood led the Trojans with a tie for 21st (219) while Nico Bollini tied for 30th (221).

Stanford Golf Course in Stanford, Calif. -- Hosted by Stanford University

Teams (seeded in the following order):
2. New Mexico (Mountain West)
3. Auburn
4. Arizona State
6. Arizona
7. Brigham Young
8. South Carolina
9. USC
10. Washington (Pac-10)
11. LSU
12. Pepperdine (West Coast)
13. San Diego State
14. UC Riverside (Big West)
15. St. Mary's (California)
16. Stanford
17. Texas-Arlington (Southland)
18. Colorado State
19. Cal Poly
20. Fresno State
21. Oregon
22. Denver
23. South Alabama (Sun Belt)
24. Illinois State (Missouri Valley)
25. Samford (Ohio Valley)
26. Princeton (Ivy)
27. Central Connecticut State (Northeast)

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network