Brianne McGowan Named Pac-10 Pitcher Of The Year; Kirk Walker Named Pac-10 Coach Of The Year

May 18, 2005

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Oregon State sophomore Brianne McGowan earned Pacfic-10 Conference Player of the Year honors and Beaver head coach Kirk Walker was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year as OSU had seven players earn conference recognition on Wednesday, as was announced by Commissioner Tom Hansen.

Juniors Vanessa Iapala and Adrienne Alo were named second team All-Pac-10 selections for the second straight year, while sophomore shortstop Mia Longfellow - an honorable mention pick in 2004 - also earned second team recognition. Senior second baseman Kelly Petersen garnered honorable mention accolades for the third time in her career, while junior catcher Lisa Allen and freshman outfielder Cambria Miranda were first time honorable mention picks.

The seven players receiving Pac-10 recognition are the most in OSU history.

McGowan, from Reno, Nev., became Oregon State's first ever Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year award recipient and is just the third player in school history to garner first team honors. The 6-2 hurler helped lead the Beavers to their first ever share of the Pac-10 title and an automatic berth into the 2005 NCAA Tournament. She is the only pitcher in school history to amass more than 30 victories in a single-season, and her 33 wins on the year rank second in the nation. McGowan tops the OSU charts with 293 strikeouts and innings pitched in a single season with 268. She matched OSU's record for complete games in a single season with 30. McGowan was named Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week four times and USA Softball National Player of the Week once.

Walker, in his 11th season at Oregon State, earned his second Coach of the Year award. He previously shared Coach of the Year honors with UCLA's Sue Enquist in 1999. Walker guided Oregon State to its best Pac-10 finish in school history - a 13-8 record and share of the school's first ever Pac-10 title. He led the Beavers to a 40-14 regular season mark - the best all-time winning percentage (.741) for a single year. Walker has led the Beavers to postseason action seven consecutive seasons. The award marks the second Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor for an Oregon State coach, both by Walker.

PAC-10 CO-PLAYERS OF THE YEARCaitlin Lowe, ArizonaKristen Rivera, Washington

PAC-10 PITCHER OF THE YEARBrianne McGowan, Oregon State



PAC-10 COACH OF THE YEARKirk Walker, Oregon State

FIRST TEAMPlayer School Yr Pos HometownKelly Anderson CAL SR P Woodland, Calif.Caitlin Benyi UCLA JR 2B Scottsdale, Ariz.Andrea Duran UCLA JR 3B Selma, Calif.Kristie Fox ARIZ SO SS San Diego, Calif.Vicky Galindo CAL SR 3B Union City, Calif.Alicia Hollowell ARIZ JR P Suisun, Calif.Lauren Lappin STAN JR SS Anaheim, Calif.Caitlin Lowe ARIZ SO OF Tustin, CalifBrianne McGowan OSU SO P Reno, Nev.Catalina Morris STAN JR OF Sonoita, Ariz.Kristen Rivera WASH SR C Perris, Calif.Kristina Thorson CAL JR P Lake Forest Park, Wash.Anjelica Selden UCLA FR P Vacaville, Calif.Michelle Smith STAN FR 3B Agoura Hills, Calif.


Player School Yr Pos HometownAutumn Champion ARIZ JR OF Tustin, Calif.Adrienne Alo OSU JR 3B Carson, Calif.Lovean Chaput ORE FR OF Tualatin, Ore.Ashley Charters WASH FR SS Newberg, Ore.Mindy Cowles ASU FR UT Riverside, Calif.Kaleo Eldridge CAL SR OF Kahului, HawaiiKathy Fiske WASH SR 3B Temecula, Calif.Amy Harris ORE JR P Eugene, Ore.Vanessa Iapala OSU JR 1B San Diego, Calif.Lindsay James CAL JR OF San Carlos, Calif.Mia Longfellow OSU SO UT Ramona, Calif.Leah Nelson STAN SR C Oakland, Calif.Haley Woods CAL JR C Burlingame, Calif.Emily Zaplatosch UCLA JR C Scottsdale, Ariz.


Player School Yr Pos HometownLisa Allen OSU JR C Canby, Ore.Beth Boskovich ORE JR 1B Camarillo, Calif.Katie Burkhart ASU FR P San Luis Obispo, Calif.Jackie Coburn ARIZ SR 3B Phoenix, Ariz.Crystal Farley ARIZ SR OF Lompoc, Calif.Erin Goodell ORE SR 2B Roseburg, Ore.Lauren Greer WASH FR OF Placentia, Calif.Sarah Hyatt WASH JR 1B Sedro-Wooley, Wash.Heidi Knabe ASU SO C Simi Valley, Calif.Jodie Legaspi UCLA SO SS/UT Garden Grove, Calif.Dominique Lastrapes WASH SO 2B Laguna Hills, Calif.Becky McCullough STAN FR P Moraga, Calif.Aimee Minor WASH JR OF San Jacinto, Calif.Cambria Miranda OSU FR UT Camarillo, Calif.Jessica Pamanian CAL SR 2B Milpitas, Calif.Kelly Petersen OSU SR SS San Diego, Calif.Ashley Richards ORE SR 3B/C Richland, Wash.Jackie Rinehart STAN SO OF Reno, Nev.Breanne Sabol ORE JR SS Buena Park, Calif.Chelsea Spencer CAL SR SS San Leandro, Calif.Sharee Zaleski ASU SO 1B Santa Ana, Calif.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network