Maurice Drew and Spencer Havner on National Award Watch Lists

June 21, 2005

Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, announced the 2005 Watch Lists for the 69th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year, and the 11th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. The respective watch lists include a field of fifty candidates for each of these awards as selected by the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee. Additions and subtractions to the lists, based on player performance, will be made through out the 2005 football season.

UCLA running back Maurice Drew has been named to the Maxwell Award Watch List while Bruin linebacker Spencer Havner is on the Bednarik Award Watch List. Havner and fellow linebacker Justin London had previously been named to the Lott Trophy Watch List and Havner is also on the Lombardi Award Watch List.

Players selected to these initial watch lists have distinguished themselves as All Conference or All American selections from their respective universities in past years. Underclassmen are selected based on recommendations from the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee.

The Maxwell and Bednarik Award Watch Lists have been created as a reference to provide additional assistance to eligible voters and to the media when evaluating potential candidates for these awards. The watch lists are not intended to represent an all-inclusive listing of candidates for the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club of Philadelphia. Candidates are listed in alphabetical order with the player's position, class and university noted.

Ten semi-finalists for each award will be announced in October 2005 and the field will be trimmed to three finalists in November 2005. The winners of the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show that will be broadcast on ESPN in December 2005. The formal presentation of the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will take place at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Banquet in February 2006.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network