UW's Klaas & Frimpong Receive Pac-10 Medals

June 23, 2005

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Seniors C.J. Klaas and Tina Frimpong were named the University of Washington's Pac-10 Medal winners, Conference Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Thursday. The medal is awarded to each member institution's outstanding senior male and female student-athlete based on the exhibition of the greatest combination of performance and achievement in scholarship, athletics and leadership.

As a senior Klaas was named to the NSCAA All-America first-team for the second-straight season, becoming the first Husky to receive back-to-back, first-team accolades. He earned the Pac-10 Co-Player of the Year award and was a first-team All-Far West Region selection. Klaas also garnered first-team All-Pac-10 honors, making him the first four-time All-Pac-10 player in conference history.

Klaas started all 69 games that he played in during his collegiate career and ended his career with 10 goals, 21 assists, 41 points and four game-winning goals.

A native of Cherry Valley, Ill., Klaas was the 32nd pick overall by the San Jose Earthquakes in the 2005 Major League Soccer Draft.

Frimpong was honored as a second-team All-American in 2004 by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) after leading the Huskies to the best season in the program's history. Washington posted a 17-5-1 record and advanced to the quarterfinal round of the NCAA Championships.

A product of Hudson's Bay High School in Vancouver, Wash., Frimpong earned second- and third-team All-America acclaim in 2003 as a junior. She was voted the 2004 Pac-10 women's soccer Player of the Year, the first athlete to win that award twice. In 2003, Frimpong shared the top Pac-10 award with UCLA's Nandi Pryce.

Frimpong completed her career as Washington's all-time leader in goals (43) and points (99). She led the Pac-10 in goals as a junior (13) and senior (16). Her eight game-winning goals led all Pac-10 players in 2004.

In addition to receiving All-America honors, Frimpong was selected to the NSCAA's second-team All-Scholar team. She is currently training with the U.S. Women's National Team.

The 20 Pac-10 Conference Medal winners will be recognized next March at the State Farm Pride of the Pac-10 Luncheon held in Los Angeles in conjunction with the Pac-10 Men's Basketball Tournament.

2005 Pac-10 Medal Winners
Arizona -- Channing Frye, Basketball / Emily Mason, Swimming
Arizona State -- Andrew Walter, Football / Kylan Loney, Basketball
California -- Graham Ackerman, Gymnastics / Kelly Anderson, Softball
Oregon -- Sven Swinnen, Tennis / Cathrine Kraayeveld, Basketball
Oregon State -- Bill Swancutt, Football / Mari Embertson, Swimming
Stanford -- Tony Azevedo, Water Polo / Ogonna Nnamani, Volleyball
UCLA -- Joseph Axelrad, Water Polo / Natalie Golda, Water Polo
USC -- Ray Vincent, Swimming / Emily Adams, Volleyball
Washington -- C.J. Klaas, Soccer / Tina Frimpong, Soccer
Washington State -- Calvin Armstrong, Football / Kim Welch, Golf

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder