2005 Bronco Nagurski Trophy Watch List Announced

June 27, 2005

The Football Writers Association of America has announced the Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List for the 2005 season. Fifty standout players from around the country, including UCLA linebacker Spencer Havner, have been nominated for consideration in the preseason.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy, awarded to the best defensive player in college football, has been a staple of the FWAA's awards since 1993. It is sponsored by the Charlotte Touchdown Club, which has held the annual awards banquet since 1995.

In 2004, Havner led the Pac-10 in tackles with 125 in 11 games (11.36) and also tied for seventh nationally in tackles per game. He earned first-team All-America acclaim from cbssportsline.com and collegefootballnews.com and was one of 12 semifinalists for both the Butkus Award (nation's top linebacker) and the Lombardi Award (nation's top lineman). He enters his senior season with 303 career tackles.

The 2005 banquet is set for Monday, Dec. 5, at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, where five finalists will vie for the prize. Texas linebacker Derrick Johnson won the 2004 Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

The FWAA All-America Committee selects the Bronko Nagurski winner from the association's 11-man All-America defensive team in late November. Players may be added from the Bronko Nagurski Watch List during the course of the 2005 season.

For the fifth straight season, the FWAA will select Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Players of the Week, beginning with games the week of Sept. 3 and running through the middle of November. Each national player of the week will be added to the trophy's watch list throughout the season.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder