Golfers Compete at Oregon Amateur

June 27, 2005

Corvallis - A number of Oregon State golfers competed in last week's Oregon Amateur Championship, held June 20-25 at Pumpkin Ridge-Witch Hollow in North Plains, Ore. Jill Ferrante (Battle Ground, Wash./Battle Ground HS), a junior who was the only current OSU women's player in the competition, had the best finish, reaching the quarterfinals.

Among OSU's 13 current players and coaches that entered the men's competition, head coach Brian Watts had the best result, making the round of 16. Former OSU golfer Eric Fiskum (1995-98) reached the final before losing. Fiskum was tied for 37th in qualifying, but won five straight matches (four against higher-seeded golfers) to make it to the final.

The tournament began with two days of qualifiying. The top 64 men's scorers went on to match play, as did the top 32 women's players.

In men's qualifying, sophomore Vincent Johnson (Portland, Ore./David Douglas HS) had the best result, tying for seventh with a 1-over-par 145. Incoming freshman Alex Williams (Vancouver, Wash./Skyview HS) tied for 11th with a 2-over-par 146, Watts tied for 16th with a 3-over-par 147 and junior Ryan Gilmour (Canby, Ore./Canby HS) was 25th with a 5-over-par 149.

Nine of OSU's 13 men's golfers moved on to match play. Johnson, junior Jay Ross (Beaverton, Ore./Southridge HS), senior Tim Sundseth (Redmond, Ore./Redmond HS) and incoming freshman Tyler Simpson (Clackamas, Ore./Clackamas HS) each won their first match-play round, but lost in the round of 32.

Gilmour, Williams, junior Jonathan Green (Sisters, Ore./Sisters HS) and graduated senior Brad Simpson (Vancouver, Wash./Brush Prairie HS) lost in the round of 64.

On the women's side, Ferrante was 20th place in qualifying with an 18-over-par 162. Seeded 20th, she beat the #13 seed, former OSU golfer Mary Budke (1972-75), 2 and 1, in the round of 32, and then defeated #4-seed Kailin Downs, 5 and 3, in the round of 16. In the quarterfinals, however, she fell to eventual champion Kimberly McCready, 8 and 6.

Men's Qualifying: T7th Vincent Johnson (+1 145); T11th Alex Williams (+2 146); T16th Brian Watts (+3 147); 25th Ryan Gilmour (+5 149); T28th Brad Simpson (+7 151); T28th Tim Sundseth (+7 151); T37th Tyler Simpson (+9 153); T46th Jay Ross (+10 154); T51st Jonathan Green (+11 155); T63rd Jeremiah Oliver (+13 157); T73rd Mitch Gillis (+16 160); T73rd Clayton Moe (+16 160); T80th Cameron MacKenzie (+18 162).

Men's Round of 64: Jay Ross d. Alex Williams, 1 up; Vincent Johnson defeated Kyle Johnson, 2 and 1; Ryan Gilmour lost to Nicholas Warren, 1 up; Brian Watts defeated Randy Arvidson, 7 and 5; Tim Sundseth defeated Jerry Cundari, 2 and 1; Jonathan Green lost to Chris Heniff, 2 up; Brad Simpson lost to Raymond Schuler, 2 and 1; Tyler Simpson defeated Ken Weeks, 21st hole.

Men's Round of 32: Jay Ross lost to Landon Banks, 3 and 2; Vincent Johnson lost to Nicholas Warren, 19th hole; Brian Watts defeated Mike McKennon, 5 and 3; Tim Sundseth lost to Chandler Cocco, 5 and 4; Tyler Simpson lost to Jason Wood, 1 up.

Men's Round of 16: Brian Watts lost to Alex Stamey, 1 up.

Women's Qualifying: 20th Jill Ferrante (+18 162).

Women's Round of 32: Jill Ferrante defeated Mary Budke, 2 and 1.

Women's Round of 16: Jill Ferrante defeated Kailin Downs, 5 and 3.

Women's Quarterfinals: Jill Ferrante lost to Kimberly McCready, 8 and 6.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network